Excuses, Excuses… & A Bridal Show

Well, not even a week into the NaBloPoMo challenge and I’ve already missed a day. It’s not because there was a lack of topics or anything, but it was due to lack of time. For this challenge, I’m trying to not pre-plan/draft posts, but instead actually sit down and write and publish at the same time. (This is usually what I do for my book reviews, though it has been quite some time since one of those has been posted!). I’ve gotten better about the pre-planning/drafting because it certainly helps. But I feel that for this monthly challenge, it would be good to actually write out each post each day.

Having said that, obviously there will be days where my schedule is hectic and may not allow time for writing. So, can I do two posts the next day? Why not? Just because I’m not drafting up posts doesn’t mean I’m not thinking of (or making a list of) topics to write about. My original intent for the November 6th post was going to be about the event that kept me from writing. So I’ve decided to make the November 6 post do double duty: make my excuses, and then talk about the event. :)

Yesterday, I left the house for work at 6:45am and did not return until 9:30pm. By the time I got home, all I wanted to do was take a shower, grab a quick bite to eat and go to bed. Which is what I did. I just didn’t have the energy to write.

Onto part two.

The reason I didn’t get home until 9:30 last night was because my mom, sister, future mother-in-law, and I all went to a bridal show. There were door prizes and giveaways to pre-registered brides-to-be. I was a pre-registered bride-to-be. I won nothing. :(  But it was still interesting. It started at 6pm and the drawings were at 8:30pm. Never having been to one of these things before, I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect. It was smaller than I thought it would be, but there were still quite a few vendors.

The fun thing was that it was held at my venue, so if nothing else at least my family got to see where the reception would be — and they all liked it! As I was wandering around to the different vendors, some asked where I was having my wedding and when I told them it was at that location, every single one praised the place and/or the coordinator there, so I was very excited to get some glowing recommendations.

There were some fun prizes from the vendors, but everyone was there for giveaways for the pre-registered brides-to-be: $200 in cash to 5 lucky ladies, $500 cash to 2 & an all-inclusive honeymoon in the Bahamas to one very lucky winner. As I mentioned: I won nothing. :( (but at least the tickets to the event were free!)

There is going to be another, larger bridal show at another location in January so I’ll probably sign up for that, especially if it’s free: doesn’t hurt to try and win stuff, does it? :)

Lesson learned: we don’t need to be at those bridal shows for the whole time — really just enough time to wander around and check out the vendors, enter the door prize raffles and hang out for the drawings. (so an hour, tops!)

Have you been to bridal shows before? What’s your favorite/least favorite part? Have you ever won anything at a bridal show?

One thought on “Excuses, Excuses… & A Bridal Show

  1. What else you’ve learned is that even when you make a commitment, sometimes you just can’t keep it because something more important and pressing comes along. You make decisions. Many folks schedule blogs that they write ahead of time. Is that cheating on NaNoBloMo? I don’t think so. :) Good luck, and don’t give up because you miss once or twice! :)

What do you think?

