Where Are the Book Posts?

As you can see from my “About” page, I intentionally started this blog to write about the books I read. And for the most part, that is what I’ve been writing about since I started this blog just a little over two years ago (can’t believe it’s been that long already!) But as I’ve grown more comfortable with the blogging process, I’ve found that I have written fewer book posts and more crafty (sewing or knitting) or “random” posts. Of course, every month I have my wrap up post that does a highlight of my month in reading, crafts and “getting fit”, but lately, that’s been the only post related to reading (and it’s not even a lot of info about what I’ve read).

While I’m enjoying writing non-book posts, I want to bring those book posts back, but still keep the non-book posts, too.

I’ve been thinking about what I’d like to do starting in the new year and these are the goals I’ve come up with so far:

1. Maintain the book log (obviously) (I have a few ideas about re-vamping my log, too)
2. Write & publish one book review per week, instead of trying to review each book I read (that can get overwhelming!)
3. Write & publish one multi-book review post. It would recap the books I’ve read with a quick 1- or 2-sentence review (except for the weekly post review). (this idea is basically brand new – I came up with it as I was writing this post!) I haven’t decided on the frequency yet..monthly, every other month, quarterly…? what do you think?

And that’s it so far. Clearly, it’s a thought-in-progress kind of thing. I have some time to work out the details and really form a plan.

Do you write book reviews on your blog? Do you write a review on every book you read, or only certain books? If only certain books, what helps you choose which books to review?

5 thoughts on “Where Are the Book Posts?

  1. I think your idea of a multi-book review is a great idea. Book reviews can be overwhelming. It takes a while to read the book, then you feel obligated to do it justice. Some books lend themselves to an in-depth review, but others are good with a quick sentence or two. :)

    • Thanks! I agree – sometimes you feel like you have to produce a long, detailed review, when really all you want to say is whether you liked it or not, with minimal explanation!

    • I know how you feel — that was my goal at the beginning of the year (you can see that I posted for the first chunk of books I read based on which titles are hyperlinked on my 2013 tab), but then I just didn’t feel like writing about every book… or I would say, oh I’ll write that up later… and then never do it.
      Mixing it up is fun :)

  2. Pingback: Year in Review: 2013 | enchantedbybooks

What do you think?

