Year in Review: 2013

pocket-calendar-2013

Reading

Number of Books read: 82

Number of 5 star ratings: 6

Reading challenge progress (% complete)
What’s In a Name 6: 100%
Historical Fiction: 100%
2013 Reading Goal: 109% (goal=75, 82 read)

Crafts

Completed Knitting Projects: 4 (visit my Knitting Projects page to see)

Completed Sewing Projects: 13 (visit my Sewing Projects page to see)

What’s Ahead in 2014…

(stay tuned for a Goals & Resolutions post coming up a bit later today with more details)

Reading

Originally, I wanted to keep my reading goal at 75. I was pumped I surpassed that goal in 2013. But then I was thinking that I’ve read so many books and so quickly, that I realized I wasn’t really remembering the books from earlier this year all that well. So I’ve decided to just read at my own pace, however frequent it may be. (I’ll still set a goal on Goodreads, though!) While this is a different approach from the last couple of years, I also have other commitments to address throughout the year (mainly planning and preparing for my wedding later in the year.) However, as I mentioned in this post, I kind of like the idea of doing a post of mini reviews and then selecting one book per month to do an expanded review.

Crafts

Knitting: I’d like to get a few projects done in 2014. At least one item for myself. The crafters group at my work has decided to collect hats and blanket squares (to be donated to local charities) on an on-going basis, so I’d like to make a couple of hats for that next year.

Sewing: I’d like to complete a few articles of clothing, including 2 dresses and at least 1 top. Also, I’d like to make random, fun things, too. (whether they’re gifts or for myself doesn’t matter— though I do love being able to give homemade gifts!)

Get Fit!

Even though I decided to get rid of this segment, I’m sure I’ll write about things related to this throughout the year. I really do want to get in shape, feel better, have more energy, and just lead a healthier life overall. I know I can get the support I need from family and friends, it’s just a matter of self-discipline that I really need to focus on (especially when it comes to sticking to an exercise routine and eating better).

3 thoughts on “Year in Review: 2013

  1. I’ve not increased my goal on Goodreads for almost 3 years now! I don’t want to read to a number any more and abandoned challenges. I read some books super fast for fun and others super slow to luxuriate in.

    And yay for getting fit! My sister got me a FitBit Flex for Christmas and I’m super excited about it and loving it so far!

    Good luck with everything!

What do you think?

