General

Have to start somewhere…

I decided to start a blog dedicated to the books I read.  This will be a new venture for me.  I love to read and love to share books and stories with people.  I think reading is so important and such a great activity.  One can learn so much without even realizing it!

A story can transport you to another world.  It is a great escape.  You can travel all over the world without ever leaving your couch.  Long, boring commute to work via train? No problem; take a book and be distracted by the people, places and things you’ll encounter in its pages; you’ll wish your commute was that much longer.  Long flight? Pack a couple of books to help pass the time (you won’t even notice your ears popping).  On your way to a vacation?  Grab a book for the beach and get some sun while transporting your mind.  With the introduction of all the e-books out there, taking books along with you no matter where you go has gotten so much easier!

I think cultivating a love for reading at an early age is so important.  I recently signed up for a volunteer program through my work which they call the Power Lunch.  One lunch hour each week a group of us will go to a local elementary school to read to a student.  We get paired up with students from grades 1 through 4.  Though these children are capable of reading themselves, the focus of the program is for us to read to them.  We are able to read books at a slightly higher reading level than what they could read on their own and thus help them learn story plots, vocabulary, etc.  In fact, while I was at my orientation for this program, the woman in charge told us about a study that had been done that showed children who are read to actually have better reading comprehension and foster a love for reading from an early age.  I think we should do everything we can to help children grow to love reading.

So, bear with me and feel free to comment!  I’d love to have discussions and hear your thoughts on the books I choose to read!  And if you have suggestions, definitely leave a comment!  I’m always looking for new books to read!  🙂

One thought on “Have to start somewhere…

What do you think?

