General

So Many Book Challenges…Is There Enough Time??

While reading other book blogger posts, I came across this one. The author mentions a book challenge for 2012 that sounds really interesting and he put a link to another blogger’s post to get more information about it. So obviously, I clicked on that link, which led me to a blog called Sarah Reads Too Much. She has multiple challenges listed on her site for 2012. OK, so it sounds super nerdy, but I think I’ll get in on it….

I also saw that she has a list of 1001 books to read, taken from a book entitled 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die.  I came across a book with that title a few years back, and I’m wondering if it’s the same book, just a different edition.  I printed out the list around that time and have been crossing off books ever since.  My only stipulation was that the earliest the book could have been read was sometime in college (I found the list in my sophomore year 2005-2006).  I did this because there were some books I read during high school but barely remembered, so I thought I could do a re-read to refresh my memory.  I’m thinking I may make a separate page about that…though I should probably get the most up-to-date list… I wonder how much that book costs….

Edit: After some research, I’ve found that the list I have is certainly outdated. The original was from 2006, then it was updated in 2008 and 2010.  I tried tackling the list originally from the end of the list, starting with the earliest novels and found it very hard to get into some of them.  The writing was terrible (or so it seemed to me) with run-on sentences and WAY too much description and blah, blah, blah.  So what I started to do was just read whatever I felt like reading and then consult the list to see if it was on there; if it was, it got crossed off, if not oh well!  You’d be surprised as to which books are on there and more surprised as to which are not.  So I think I’m going to pass on the 1001 books challenge.

3 thoughts on “So Many Book Challenges…Is There Enough Time??

  1. Glad you joined in! And I’ve considered keeping track of the 1001 books challenge too…maybe a project for winter break. Looking forward to seeing what books you pick for the challenge 🙂

    Michelle

    Like

  2. Thanks for joining in!

    Yeah, I bought the latest “1001 Books…” with Christmas gift cards last year. I know people who have copied the titles onto their blogs – but I was nervous about copyright issues with that. So, I am just listing the books as I read them. So, I am just reading as normal but checking the list as I go and crossing off books as I can. (Super nerd alert – I did type up the whole list onto a Google Spreadsheet to help me keep track!) I don’t think I’ll read them ALL – there are some I have no interest in – but it is a nice list of some really good books!

    Like

What do you think?

