General

I love this time of year! (Random Post #3)

I love Christmas.  I love decorating and putting up a tree.  I love buying, wrapping and giving presents. I’m always happy this time of year.  This is my first Christmas living in my own place. And it will be nice for Mark and me to have our own Christmas morning together and start our own tradition. Before I moved, my sister, her kids and I would all get ready for Christmas together at my parents’ house.  Starting at 3 years old, my niece MaKayla would always stay in my room on Christmas Eve…all the easier for Santa to deliver the goods knowing I was keeping my eye on her. This year will be the first in 5 years that I won’t be with her on Christmas Eve, and that’s a little strange for me.  Once my nephew Anthony was born, he joined in the tradition, too.

MaKayla & Anthony, apple picking 2011

Our tree looks great and has been up since early November…in fact, I just looked at the time stamp of the first photo I took and it was on November 12, 2011.  That’s definitely the earliest I have ever put up a tree!

There are only a few edible presents (pet treats) that are not under the tree because Sonny, our dog, would have a field day. Last year, he ate an entire tub of dog treats (about 30) that were in a plastic container, sealed, and in the middle of a table…how he managed to get them we still have no idea!

Our stockings are hung (with care) by an old fireplace (though this photo was taken before we stuffed them).  The homeowners boarded it up a long time ago, I guess.  But it’s a perfect place to hang the stockings without Sonny being able to get them and worry about any candy melting near a fire or heater/radiator. 🙂

One of my favorite things from Christmas is a book my Meme (grandmother) made me. I honestly can’t even tell you how long I’ve had it (though I’m sure my mom would be able to tell me!) I’ve had it for a very long time, though. It’s a cloth Christmas Song Book, filled with Christmas carols: traditional (i.e. Jingle Bells) and religious ones (i.e. Silent Night).

Another thing I really love from Christmas is my ornament set.  Each year, my Meme would get a gold ornament set from the Danbury Mint for a grandchild.  After I got my set, my mom continued the tradition and I have three complete sets of golden ornaments. I could literally fill a whole tree with just those.  But I only put a few on my tree this year because I’m sharing it with Mark and it wouldn’t be fair for me to take it over.

Fantasy Coach, 1995

Each set came with twelve ornaments and then a specialty one. For 1995, it was the Fantasy Coach.

Waiting for Santa, 1999

I always thought this ornament was cute, with the detail: the fireplace, stockings, and the little boy.

Winter Cardinal, 2001

And I love this cardinal one because it reminds me of my Meme. She liked cardinals and we would sometimes see them through her kitchen window, sitting on the bird feeder she put out for them.  But we didn’t see them often.  Not too long after she died, some of us would randomly see a cardinal and think “oh, there she is.”  I still miss her very much.  I think Christmas was her favorite.  She always gave us oranges in our stockings.

With that, I want to wish you a Merry Christmas, Happy Holiday and a Happy New Year to you and your families.  May your holidays be filled with happiness and laughter and may you enjoy all that it brings!

(now if only we could get just a light dusting of snow on Christmas morning…)

2 thoughts on “I love this time of year! (Random Post #3)

  1. Okay, I know Christmas is over but I have to comment on your post. I LOVE those gorgeous gold ornaments. What a beautiful and special tradition. Those are definitely going to be heirlooms that you can pass on!

    Like

What do you think?

