50 States Challenge · Book Review

REVIEW: Kill Me If You Can by James Patterson and Marshall Karp

Title: Kill Me If You Can
Author: James Patterson & Marshall Karp

Goodreads Synopsis: Matthew Bannon, a poor art student living in New York City, finds a duffel bag filled with diamonds during a chaotic attack at Grand Central Station. Plans for a worry-free life with his stunning girlfriend Katherine fill his thoughts–until he realizes that he is being hunted, and that whoever is after him won’t stop until they have reclaimed the diamonds and exacted their revenge. 

Trailing him is the Ghost, the world’s greatest assassin, who has just pulled off his most high-profile hit: killing Walter Zelvas, a top member of the international Diamond Syndicate. There’s only one small problem: the diamonds he was supposed to retrieve from Zelvas are missing. Now, the Ghost is on Bannon’s trail–but so is a rival assassin who would like nothing more than to make the Ghost disappear forever. From “America’s #1 storyteller” (Forbes) comes a high-speed, high-stakes, winner-take-all thrill ride of adrenaline-fueled suspense.

The book had its good and bad points, but I actually liked it better than the most recent Alex Cross installment (see my review here).

Matt Bannon, currently an art student, is also an ex-Marine, so of course, when the shit hits the fan he’ll know how to take care of himself and anyone he needs to protect.   I find that most of the main characters in Patterson’s novels usually have some training, quality or trait that will aid them in whatever mess they find themselves in.

There were a few things that I didn’t like, one being the relationship between the Prince family members, Nathaniel and Natalia.  I guess I understand how it fit into the story and propelled some of the action, but it probably could have been re-worked to not include a relationship such as theirs.

I felt that the story moved super fast, but I suppose that’s also due to Patterson’s signature chapter style (as I’ve mentioned in earlier posts).  The way Matt reveals some of his past to Katherine seems a bit rushed and not really done in the right way or at the right time, but I suppose that’s a set up for what happens between them shortly afterwards.

I was surprised to discover the identity of the Ghost, but also intrigued, I guess I didn’t see it coming…though once revealed, it made sense.  Patterson is known for having chapters from multiple characters’ points of view, so I wasn’t surprised to see some from the Ghost’s point of view, though the transition from the Ghost to his real identity was interesting because it happened in the same chapter; in fact, in mid-conversation (but it wasn’t the Ghost’s real identity saying “I’m the Ghost”).  I thought that was well done, because it was a “wait, what?” split second moment.

However, the ending intrigued me the most and I wouldn’t be surprised if this turned into a series.  All is not wrapped up with a nice bow at the end.  I was left with questions such as who are Newton and Matt’s art benefactor “Copernicus”? How do they know about his past?  Who else is involved in it?

As always, Patterson’s stories are decent (some better than others) and quick reads…usually enjoyable while reading, but I’ve never felt the urge to re-read them (good thing I borrow them from my mom, huh?)

4 thoughts on “REVIEW: Kill Me If You Can by James Patterson and Marshall Karp

  1. I can’t get used to the idea of ereaders. I guess I’m just a book nerd through and through. It’s like the excitement you get from buying a CD…the cover, looking at the pictures inside, seeing all of the song tracks…When you download a song or album from itunes, it’s just not as exciting. I like buying the book, turning the pages, the smell of old books, the smell of new books, having a full book case, the whole shebang!

    Loving all of the Patterson. He truly is one of my favorites!

    Like

What do you think?

