General

Check Your Local Library

One of my blog followers commented on a recent post about his local library not having a copy of the first book in a series, to which I suggested checking to see if the library had any type of digital lending for ereader devices.   So that prompted me to write this post.

Recently, I got an email from my library that said…(hold on while I find the email)… Okay, so I guess it wasn’t sent that recently after all, I already deleted it.  In any case, they sent out an email to alert members that digital books can be borrowed on the Kindle.  Now, I knew my library offered books in the EPUB and PDF file formats, but — WAIT! I think I forwarded the email to my mom, let me check my sent folder…

Nope, guess not.

ANYWAY, books can now be borrowed on the Kindle (in the Kindle format, not just the EPUB or PDF format) through my library through this thing called Overdrive.  According to the Overdrive site, there may be some restrictions for certain devices (for example, the 1st and 2nd generation Kindles are only compatible with American libraries).

For any of you who are members of the Boston Public Library, you can check out their digital
lending library here.

Amazon has a policy about getting books from libraries as well. (Click here to be taken to the Amazon page about library books). You can share with other Kindle users (though once again, certain restrictions may apply…I think it depends on the publisher, etc. to determine whether a book is allowed to be shared.)  I also remember reading that there is a 14 day sharing limit for a book, so if it’s a long book and you’re a slow reader, you may want to consider other alternatives.

I have borrowed my first e-book through the library site.  On the library site, it said I have 14 days to borrow the book.  Then, when I clicked on “Get it for Kindle”  I was redirected to Amazon, where I was able to send the book via Wi-Fi (in fact, there was a note saying that the Kindle had to be connected to a Wi-Fi network because the book would not be sent via 3G) like any other book purchased for the Kindle.  When I look in my Kindle library, it says “public library” next to the title.  I am able to view it on my Kindle, so it looks like I have had success!  I know it will take me less than 14 days to read this, but I almost want to leave it until the end of the time period to see what happens. I wonder if I won’t be able to open the file on my Kindle or something?

Have you borrowed an e-book through your library before?  What was your experience when the due date arrived?

15 thoughts on “Check Your Local Library

  1. I can answer! The file will be removed from your device on the due date when it syncs with the network. If you have a reader without 3g or wi-fi, theoretically, you could have the book on there as long as you liked, so long as you didn’t connect it to your computer.

    Like

    1. Thanks!! 🙂 I guess I never considered that before. A couple of years ago I had a Sony eReader and the only way to get the books to the device was attaching it with a USB cable (like an ipod) so I was always curious as to how it would be affected while on the device. Now, with the Kindle (and having 3G & Wi-Fi) that makes much more sense!

      Like

      1. I was reading somewhere else (I think it was on CNET) not too long ago that if your due date is coming up and you’re not finished, you can just disconnect the WiFi/3g settings until you’re done and it won’t be able to remove the book.

        Like

        1. Good to know! I’ll have to look into whether there are “renew” features for it. I’m sure there are. But I can usually finish the book before the due date, and I find that I tend to read faster on the Kindle, too.

          Like

  2. I haven’t had any issues with BPL or the Minuteman Network. The only thing I have to say is if you finish early google how to return it! It’s not the easiest process, but so many people are keeping the books for the full period that it makes the wait last FOREVER.

    Knowing BPL and MMN were getting the Kindle books was what spurred me into buying a Kindle – I’d had a sony reader until I heard libraries were going to have access to some kindle books.

    Like

    1. I had the Sony eReader too and was confused as to how library books would work on it (since you had to plug it into the computer to transfer the file and there was no type of internet connection on the device itself).

      I noticed on my Amazon page where my Kindle library is stored that there is a drop down menu to the right of each item titled “Action” and one of the actions was “return this book”. Does that not work?

      Like

      1. It does! I’d never seen it and when I was done with my first book it took way to long to find something that told me that.

        Like

        1. Oh! Good to know. Hopefully it will work just fine when it’s time for me to return it. I’m very excited about this new possibility of having access to more books. My only concern is taking out too many at a time and having to renew…I get book-happy (crazy). So I’m starting slow with just the one to test it out. 🙂

          Like

    1. You’re welcome, I guess! hehe I think it’s relatively new for the Apple products. But since I only have a really old 2nd generation ipod (aka from 2004) and an ipod nano, I didn’t bother looking too deeply into it. I hope it works out for you!

      Like

What do you think?

