Book Review

REVIEW: Life’s Golden Ticket by Brendon Burchard

Title: Life’s Golden Ticket
Author: Brendon Burchard

Goodreads Synopsis:

What if you were given a ticket

that could magically start your life anew?

Would you redeem it?

In this moving parable of personal growth and change, Burchard has created a rich, emotional journey of transformation that, by its end, readers feel like they can truly start their lives anew, as if they’ve received a “golden ticket”–– a second chance at life.

LIFE’S GOLDEN TICKET tells the story of a man who is so trapped in the prisons of his past that he cannot see the possibilities, the choices, and the gifts he has right in front of him. At the behest of his fiancée, who is clinging to life in a hospital bed, he takes the envelope she hands him and makes his way to an old, abandoned amusement park to appease her delirious pleadings. But when he steps through the rusted entrance gates, the abandoned park magically comes to life …

This was the book I took out from the digital library from my local library.  Let me get this out of the way: success at borrowing and returning it! (hooray!)

Okay, onto the story.  I really enjoyed it.  There were times when I got teary eyed, I won’t lie, but I thought it was a great story to inspire people to make the changes that they should, can, and want to make.  It really boils down to learning that you always have a chance to make a change in your life for the better.  You can always grow and improve and become the person you want to be.  You don’t need to “accept what life has given you.”  You can take it by the horns and make of it what you want.  You don’t need to let bad past experiences dictate how you view the world and how to act.  You have the ability to move past the bad experiences and remember the good ones and use the good experiences to mold you into the person you want to be.

I liked that it took place in a carnival/amusement park. Many of the rides and attractions proved to be perfect metaphors for different parts of the narrator’s life. The characters were so well-developed and I thought it was a really well done story.  Each character, no matter how briefly we saw him or her, had a specific role on this path of learning.

Have you read this?

Have you ever had an experience that made you re-evaluate your present situation?

7 thoughts on “REVIEW: Life’s Golden Ticket by Brendon Burchard

  1. Love your blog. I’m on goodreads also, you should fine me and… I love Diana Gabaldon! One of my fav authors! Hows The Scottish Prisoner?

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! 🙂 I will look you up on Goodreads for sure. I actually still haven’t gone past page 6…hehe (the first chapter). I have that in hardcover (borrowed it from my mum) but it’s pretty big, so I’ve been reading books on my kindle (easier for traveling to and from work on the train). I’m hoping to make a dent in it this weekend though so I’ll let you know! I love the Outlander series, so I’m sure it will be great!

      Like

      1. Please let me know how it is…I’ve yet to read it 😀 But I too have read the outlander series and LOVE tem so much!!!! My best friend got me into the books about 5 yrs ago and cant set them down still. Look forward to keeping in touch with you! Have a great weekend!

        Like

        1. Will do! My mom was the one who got me into them…actually, she bought them but had so many other books in her queue that I ended up reading them before her. hehe
          You have a great weekend, too! 🙂

          Like

What do you think?

