General

Discovering Audiobooks

Okay, so I’ve tried listening to a book on CD before (a few years ago in college).  To complete the nerd visual, here’s the setup:  a roommate and I both loved to read and tended to stay up until 3 or so in the morning (no matter what day of the week) reading our books in the common room of our suite.  I had started teaching her how to knit so we thought we could combine the two activities by buying a book on CD to listen to while we knit. So we went to Barnes and Noble and found a book that we both found interesting.  Well.  The narrator had an accent (I can’t remember if it was Scottish or Irish, and don’t get me wrong, I LOVE both of those accents), but he didn’t create voices for the different characters and we soon lost track of the story.  We gave up on it not too long into it. And I haven’t tried another audiobook since.

Recently, I read a post from Mandy at Adventures in Borkdom about The History of English Literature and after reading her review I thought, why not give audiobooks another shot?  So I decided to listen to this particular one, and so far it’s pretty interesting.

Now I must return to the book (and work).

Happy reading (or listening)!

11 thoughts on “Discovering Audiobooks

    1. I’d be afraid I’d miss something if I listened to it at bedtime. haha

      But I figure it’s worth a shot, especially if I can put it on my ipod and listen to it at work!

      Like

        1. It’s funny, I’ve listened to podcasts as well as videos on youtube (interviews with actors, etc. for example) while at work, but for some reason it never crossed my mind to check out audiobooks. better late than never I suppose!

          Like

  1. I have a 45 minute commute and I’m thinking about trying audiobooks. I may miss NPR though if I do. We shall see. I might end up like you and being lost in the voice of the narrator rather than the actual book.

    Like

    1. Before checking out a book (because I can get audiobooks through my library) I plan to check out reviews, etc. and see how the set up is (does the narrator use different voices? etc.) and go from there. I definitely want to make sure it’s something to keep my attention!

      Thanks for commenting! 🙂

      Like

  2. Awesome!! I hope you have better luck.

    To be perfectly honest, I am not a big fan of audiobooks–I’m definitely not an auditory person, so I tend to space out a lot when listening to an audiobook. So, please note that if I ever write a positive review for an audiobook, know that it’s a good one because typically I’m not a fan!

    Like

    1. I finished this book this afternoon at work, I’ll write my review tomorrow. I definitely spaced out in some parts but I think that was because I was doing work at the same time and some parts required more attention than others. I never thought I’d really be an audiobook type person just because I could get distracted. I’ll have to try a novel next time to see if it’s different. 🙂

      Like

What do you think?

