General

I May Have a Problem

Friday I took the train home from work.  Normally I carpool with my boyfriend’s mom (we work together) but I stayed a little late in anticipation of a potential meeting (more on that later).  Anyway, I realized I left my Kindle at home that day (assuming that I would be riding in a car and not on a train) and my iPod battery was dead.  Conundrum!  What was I supposed to do for the 35 minute train ride?

So of course I decided to stop at the Coop (remember when I discovered it?) to see if I could find something to read. (duh, you should have seen that one coming).  So after browsing for about 20 minutes (good thing I take the regular T and not the commuter rail) I finally decided on Luka and the Fire of Life by Salman Rushdie.  I think it’s supposed to be a young adult novel, but so far so good.  I’m about 30 pages into it.

Though I think that this is sort of a sideways sequel from other novels he’s written for another character.  I have other novels of his in my goodreads queue so I’ll have to check them out.

So many books!

 

Have you read books by Salman Rushdie before?  Thoughts?

5 thoughts on “I May Have a Problem

  1. I have only read one book by Rushdie, Midnight’s Children. It was a weird book, and a challenging book, but I kind of liked it, certainly enought to want to read more of his work. This one you have picked up sounds and looks quite fun! 🙂

    Like

    1. I’ve heard of Midnight’s Children as well as the Satanic Verses but have read neither. I’ll check them both out eventually. So far this one is decent. It’s interesting writing, I think.

      Thanks for commenting! 🙂

      Like

      1. Yeah, Satanic Verses is supposed to be quite good, both that and Midnight’s Children are rather controversial in different ways (certainly in life changing ways for Rushdie himself). But Midnight’s Children won the Booker of Bookers, and you can kind of see why, I think. 🙂

        Like

      2. I read Haroun and the Sea of Stories a few months ago, and I really enjoyed it. I’m hoping to read Luka and the Fire of Life soon! Luka and the Fire of Life is actually the squeal to Haroun & the Sea of Stories. Rushdie wrote the first story for his oldest son, and then the second for his youngest.

        Like

        1. I thought so! When Luka was mentioning Haroun and his magical journey/experience, it sounded like he was referencing a previous book and he gave it a title and I saw it matched the title of a book Rushdie had written earlier. I may put this one on pause to read the Sea of Stories first, just to see if there are any other veiled references.

          Like

What do you think?

