Monday Musings

Musing Mondays (1)

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by Should Be Reading. Each Monday, a book- or reading-related question will be posted and we blog our answers, then link back to the original post.

So without further ado, here is the question of the day:

Have you ever found a book out of the blue, read it, and then had it be surprisingly good — one that stuck with you for years? If so, what book was it?”


This one took a lot of thought.  I’ve read so many books over the years that I had to think back to one that wasn’t recommended or given to me.  I actually had 4 books to choose from, two of them were recent (within the last year) so I felt that they didn’t quite fit the question.  So I finally decided on Watchers by Dean Koontz.  This is one of my favorite books of all-time. If I’m ever asked to list a few of my favorite books, this one will always appear on the list.

Good reads synopsis: On his thirty-sixth birthday, Travis Cornell hikes into the foothills of the Santa Ana Mountains. But his path is soon blocked by a bedraggled Golden Retriever, who will let him go no further into the dark woods.

That morning, Travis had been desperate to find some happiness in his lonely, seemingly cursed life. What he finds is a friend—a dog of alarming intelligence—and a threat that could only have come from the darkest corners of man’s imagination…

The above is a very brief, rather uninformative synopsis of the book.  I probably first stumbled upon it in Barnes and Noble years ago.  I’ve definitely read it enough times that the spine (it is a paperback) is all worn and creased (the sure sign of a good book!).  The book was first published back in 1987, but I was only 2 then so I clearly didn’t read it when it first came out. I probably first read it within the last 10 years.  I like to re-read it from time to time because the story is so good.

I was on a Dean Koontz kick a while back and have about 8 of his books (not a lot, in retrospect, considering how many he’s written) and I had enjoyed others (such as Lightning), so I figured I’d give it a shot.  Saw that it involved an intelligent dog so I bought it.

Never would I have imagined loving a story so much!  Or, more to the point, a fictional dog named Einstein.  After reading this book, I always looked at dogs a little differently.

My boyfriend’s aunt has a golden retriever so I lent her the book to read, because I thought she would love it.  I don’t think she’s read it yet, though, so I haven’t gotten it back.  But I think I will re-read it once I do.  It’s been a couple of years since I last read it, anyway.  It’s due for a re-read.

I was reading a review yesterday about The Fault in Our Stars, by John Green by Lauren at Book Blob and the first quote she posted from the novel was a perfect summation of how I feel about certain books: “Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.”  That’s how I feel about Watchers. Again, mainly because of Einstein more than anything else in the book.

 

18 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (1)

  1. Yes, mine was a book called ‘The Industry of Souls’ by Martin Booth, it is always there in the background because I remember I had never read a book where I stopped and reread so many passages repeatedly, it was a good story but it was the richness of the imagery and his attention to detail that really left this lasting impression. I remember typing out paragraphs and sharing them with friends, something I never did normally, but such was the compulsion to want to share the experience. It has this provocative title and almost scary cover, enough to put many off perhaps, but oh what joy I found within. He only wrote one more book after that and sadly passed away.

    Like

    1. This is my favorite one of his, and Lightning is probably my second favorite of all that I have read. I have his Frankenstein books in my TBR queue as well!

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

    1. I agree! Whenever I read blog posts, especially if they’re part of a challenge in which I’m participating, I love to see what other people read. I’ve added so many books to the TBR queue on goodreads because of all the new reviews I would never have seen otherwise!

      Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Like

  2. OH Man I have a DEAN KOONZ hidden stash. My fiance cannot stand them. I have a love hate relationship with him, but I have read everything by him except for the very latest and only the first Frankenstein! I loved Watchers though, and the dog…. I agree!!
    MusingMonday

    Like

    1. How did you like the first Frankenstein? I’ve borrowed the books from my mom, but have yet to actually read them. They’ll be the first “new” Dean Koontz books I’ve read in years. I stopped reading him after a while

      Like

      1. It was actually brilliant and completely un-Koontz like. Be glad you have only read a few, I read to many and his obvious past childhood abuse and a parent or relative who was a drunk screams loudly. Though Frankenstein is VERY VERY dark and a bit gruesome, so beware it is definitely a shocker with psychopath monsters out of control, it is honestly some of his best work!

        Like

What do you think?

