Book Beginnings on Friday

Book Beginnings on Fridays (1)

Book Beginnings on Fridays is a weekly meme hosted by Gilion over at Rose City Reader.  She recently took over this weekly meme.  Basically, we post the opening sentence for whatever book we are reading and what we think about it.  I’ve never really done anything like that, and only occasionally pay attention to the first sentence of book…usually only if it really appeals to me.

“Welcome, dear reader, as you plunge into the thrilling pages of our melodrama where you will find adventures of which you never dreamt!”

So begins Part I of Felix J. Palma’s Map of Time.

When I first read this sentence, I thought it was interesting that the reader was addressed. It made me wonder if the novel was going to be more conversational with a third-person narrator that may or may not address the reader.

It also made me think of Willy Wonka when Grandpa Joe reads the golden ticket: “In your wildest dreams you cannot image the marvelous surprises that await you!

14 thoughts on “Book Beginnings on Fridays (1)

  1. Hi Danielle,

    I love the sound of this one, those first lines, together with the synopsis had me hooked, although it is a bit more of a ‘chunkster’ read than I am used to. It has still made it to my reading list though, so thanks for the introduction.

    Have a great weekend,

    Yvonne

    Like

    1. Hi Yvonne! Thanks for commenting. He breaks it down into multiple parts. I’m in Part II right now and some of the characters have continued in it, so it makes me think that perhaps each Part is an individual story, yet they are all connected. I think it’s pretty interesting. You have a great weekend too! I’d love to hear what you think once you’ve read it!

      Like

    1. I think it’s a great way to look at books. As I mentioned in my post, sometimes I don’t really pay attention to the first line, or even look back to see how it reflects on the book. Now, with your weekly meme, I’ll definitely pay more attention!

      Like

    1. So far the book is pretty good! Has me wondering and waiting for a reveal of some sort. You should check out the Rose City Reader by clicking the image to see what other people have posted for their Book Beginnings!

      Like

  2. That is a very interesting opening! It made me think it would be nonfiction, at first. Having a “reader-aware” narrator in fiction would create a distinct type of story. I suppose it helps create the “melodrama” that he’s going for… 🙂

    Like

    1. Yes. It certainly caught my attention. Especially because it was all capital letters. The reader isn’t addressed all the time, but only in some spots. If the narrator moves away from a particular scene he tends to address the reader. I like it so far.

      Like

What do you think?

