Book Review · Historical Fiction Challenge · Mount TBR Reading Challenge

REVIEW: The Map of Time by Felix J. Palma

Title: Map Of Time
Author: Felix J. Palma
Translated by:  Nick Caistor

Goodreads Synopsis: Set in Victorian London with characters real and imagined, The Map of Time is a page-turner that boasts a triple play of intertwined plots in which a skeptical H. G. Wells is called upon to investigate purported incidents of time travel and to save lives and literary classics, including Dracula and The Time Machine, from being wiped from existence. What happens if we change history? Felix J. Palma explores this question in The Map of Time, weaving a historical fantasy as imaginative as it is exciting–a story full of love and adventure that transports readers to a haunting setting in Victorian London for their own taste of time travel.

I bought this book on my Kindle months and months ago.  I saw it on Amazon and thought it sounded good. Then I never got around to it.  First, until I looked it up on Goodreads,  I didn’t even realize it was a translation.  But let me tell you, it’s a wonderful translation.  I didn’t really notice any odd phrases or parts that sounded as if they had been translated.  It was beautifully done.

Next, I should probably tell you that I love the concept of time travel.  It’s one of those things that piques my curiosity.  I’ve read non-fiction books by Michio Kaku (a prominent string theorist) in which he discusses the possibilities of time travel.  Obviously (but unfortunately) I’ll never see it in my lifetime, but it’s an amazing thought that maybe someday it could happen…

The narrator of the novel was a great character separate from the main characters.  He (or she…but I tended to think of it as male) addressed the reader and made it more of an actual storytelling than just a narration, if that makes sense.  By addressing the reader, I feel that the narrator pulled the reader further into the novel.

Normally, a lot of description in a novel can bore me, but I really enjoyed it all, and I think that was due to the narrator.  Yes, there may have been tangents, and yes those usually bother me as well, but it didn’t.  Strange.  Maybe mixing historical fiction with science fiction is the ultimate genre for me. hehe  Historical novels tend to keep me more entertained, even when the descriptions get long.  I love learning about the past, even though I was never a huge fan of history class.

I can’t say much about the plot (aside from what you see in the synopsis above) without giving certain things away.  There were definitely quite a few twists, and at certain parts I was waiting for some sort of  revelation, and there was a final twist at the end.

Each part could stand alone as its own story, but some characters spill over into the other parts and really give a full wonderful version that really intertwines the lives of people who may never even realize it.  I love that it twists and turns, yet is all connected.  It’s really wonderfully written.

5 thoughts on “REVIEW: The Map of Time by Felix J. Palma

    1. It has my highest rating of all the books I’ve read so far for 2012. It was a good read. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised 🙂

      Like

What do you think?

