Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesdays: Top Ten Books To Read in a Day

The Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Every week they choose a new topic for bloggers to list their top ten of whatever books fit into the category. (the image above is linked to today’s post at The Broke and the Bookish)

This is my second week doing this meme and this one definitely requires some thought.  I’ve read a LOT of books over the years and I’m a fairly quick reader, but I’m not sure how many books I’ve actually read in one day (or ones that I would list in a top ten).   I’ll try my best!

In no particular order…

Top Ten Books To Read in a Day

1. Plainsong for Caitlin by Elizabeth M. Rees

I first got this book probably back in 5th grade at one of those Scholastic book sales that traveled to different elementary schools. It’s a super quick read and one I’ve read many times over the years.  It’s not some amazing, wondrous story by any means.  The cover of the book makes it look like a YA version of a Harlequin Romance and I won’t say there isn’t any sort of “love” plot…there most definitely is.  I tended to read it at night when I couldn’t get to sleep because it would only take a couple hours to read.  I guess it’s one of those “childish” books I never really outgrew.

2. The Giver by Lowis Lowry

I read this book for my 8th grade English class.  It was one that always stuck with me. A few months ago (aka before Christmas) I found it in Target for only $6 so I picked it up.  I re-read it shortly after that.  While I remembered the basic premise of the story, I had forgotten details.  It was interesting to read it 12 years later to see if I had a different reaction.  I still enjoyed it and I think maybe understood some underlying themes that eluded me back when I was 14.

3. A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

Of course we all love A Muppet’s Christmas Carol, but it wouldn’t exist without Dickens’ novel (duh). I’ve always liked this story, and had seen it in numerous forms, but to be honest, up until a few years ago, I hadn’t actually ever read it.  When I was younger, my sister, two cousins and I liked to put on performances for our family at the holidays.  I specifically remember one year we decided to do A Christmas Carol, but I think we did a condensed version.  And the only thing I really remember about it was me putting my dad’s black sweater over my head and pointing my finger, like the Ghost of Christmas Yet to Come does.

4. Anything by James Patterson

His books may be a few hundred pages long, but his chapter are so short and you keep turning those pages (“one more chapter…oh wait, the chapter just ended?  okay, one more…”)  On more than one occasion I have completed one of his books within a few hours.  I’ve always enjoyed his Alex Cross series, and I read the Women’s Murder Club, as well.  And just about anything else he puts out.  Lately, I’ve been feeling a little jaded by his books, though, because it’s all crime stuff.  I really enjoy other genres much more that crime, so I think I’m going to take a break from him for a little while.

5. Einstein’s Refrigerator and Other Stories from the Flip Side of History, by Steve Silverman

This is a collection of short stories about random/little-known events in history.  They’re quirky little things that I thought were pretty interesting.

 

 

 

6. Secret series by Psuedonymous Bosch

They’re YA books. Each one is short enough that it could be read in a day.  They’re kind of odd-ball but cute nonetheless.

 

 

7. The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

At this point,  I don’t think I need to say anything about them.

 

 

Those are really the only books I’ve read in a day which I enjoyed.   Others that I’ve read in a day but didn’t really care for are The Awakening as well as Fahrenheit 451. I’m sure there are some books in my TBR pile that will fill this category (such as Peter Pan, for instance).

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays: Top Ten Books To Read in a Day

  1. I ate up the first book of the hunger games trilogy, but only made it through the first third of the second one. We saw the movie this past weekend, AMAZING! Do the books get better? Should I give the other two another shot?

    Like

  2. Everyone I work with was talking about The Hunger Games trilogy, but my reading list is sooo long right now. I did the next best thing and listened to the audio books (I can listen to my ipod while at my desk at work which is super convenient ). Surprised to say I liked the series a lot. I didn’t think it would happen since I haven’t “read” YA novels since ever.

    What did you think about the last book (especially the last chapters)? I found it sad, almost to the point of being unbearable, but also very true to how I think everything would play out in the end, not overtly happy, but at least some semblance of happiness and hope.

    Like

    1. I know what you mean.

      I agree that the third one was definitely sad, but the significant losses make the novel more realistic. If everyone arrived at the end unscathed, it would seem too good to be true. Even though we always root for certain characters, we can still understand the reasons behind certain plot points/twists, you know?

      Like

      1. Agreed.

        The first 2 we’re great reads, or in my case great listens. But the 3rd resonates and lingers with me because of how grounded it is, which doesn’t always happen for me, but something I always appreciate.

        Like

What do you think?

