Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books That Were Totally Deceiving

The Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Every week they choose a new topic for bloggers to list their top ten of whatever books fit into the category. (the image above is linked to today’s post at The Broke and the Bookish)

Top Ten Books That Were Totally Deceiving
(those covers or titles that don’t fit the books, a book that was totally different than its summary, or those books you thought were going to be fluff that turned out to be more serious etc etc.)

1. The Giver, Lois Lowry

Granted, I had to read this for school, but I always thought the cover was weird with the old man on it.  It sort of makes sense considering who teaches Jonas.  But, I remember thinking it was strange as a kid.  It’s a great story that I recently bought a few months ago and re-read for the first time in over 10 years.

 

 

    2. A Prayer for Owen Meany, John Irving

Another book I read for school and thoroughly enjoyed. I’ve probably re-read it a handful of times since high school.  The copy I borrowed from the library had an armadillo on the cover and the copy I ended up buying had a dressmaker’s dummy on it.  They were weird and I wasn’t sure how it fit in with the story, especially with the title, but as I read, the cover (both versions) made sense.

 

 

3. The Memory Keeper’s Daughter, Kim Edwards

I thought the cover was weird and it made me think of ghost stories.  It seemed like the dress was just floating. It seemed kind of creepy.  The story was a bit odd, but decent.

 

 

 

4. Black Jewels Trilogy, Anne Bishop

This trilogy actually became a whole series.  Anywho, the covers of the individual books definitely make it look like some cheesy, trashy, romance series, and while there is certainly a number of “romance” scenes, there is more to it than that.  It’s a matriarchal society and as most series with supernatural beings, it’s a lot about good versus evil.  I actually really enjoy these.  A guilty pleasure?  Perhaps.

 

 

5. Plainsong for Caitlin, Elizabeth M. Rees

I know I’ve used this for Top Ten before, but the cover definitely makes it look like a Fabio-esque, cheesy romance novel for young adults.  And once again, though there is a love story, it is actually a decent story for girls about traveling west, growing up, and learning a whole new lifestyle.

 

 

 

Those are really the only ones I can think of.  When I buy a book, part of my search is looking at the cover.  If the cover seems off or is weird or whatever, I tend to put it back on the shelf.  I have plenty of other books that may have weird covers, but I haven’t read them yet.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books That Were Totally Deceiving

What do you think?

