Book Beginnings on Friday

Book Beginning on Friday (4)

Book Beginnings on Fridays is a weekly meme hosted by Gilion over at Rose City Reader.  She recently took over this weekly meme.  Basically, we post the opening sentence for whatever book we are reading and what we think about it.  I’ve never really done anything like that, and only occasionally pay attention to the first sentence of book…usually only if it really appeals to me. Clicking the image above will take you to Gilion’s Book Beginning for today.

“On February 24, 1815, the lookout at Notre-Dame de la Garde signalled the arrival of the three-master Pharaon, coming from Smyrna, Trieste and Naples.”The Count of Monte Cristo, Alexandre Dumas

I’ve never read The Count of Monte Cristo and only recently started it.  I haven’t gotten too far into it, but I can tell you that when I copied the first line, it didn’t really jump out at me as other first lines have.  But, I have it on good authority (a few fellow readers/bloggers/friends) who have enjoyed the book, so we’ll see what happens.  It is long, so I hope it doesn’t eat up a lot of my time.

Because it is so long, I have decided to read a second book at the same time (plus I was able to borrow it for free from Amazon with a trial of Amazon Prime!), in case the length is getting to me and I need a break, I’ll have the second book waiting for me….

“It’s seven o’clock on Monday morning and the movers have been here since six.” The Beach Street Knitting and Yarn Society,  Gil McNeil

Well, it’s a fairly interesting opening.  Why is the narrator moving and what in the world makes anyone get movers to show up at their house at 6 a.m.?!  I’ve only just begun this one, too, so I don’t have any insight.  But I love reading books about knitting (I am a knitter myself) so hopefully it is another knit-fiction that I will enjoy. 🙂

Happy reading everyone!

[This was posted before Gilion’s, I will link it later today!]

7 thoughts on “Book Beginning on Friday (4)

  1. My Father-in-law is from Treiste! So it jumped out at me for personal reasons. 😉 Despite that, I have to say that the count’s first line is WAY more intriging to me then the knitting line. It sets a date, a place, and piques my interest of other cultures. With one line, I am already picturing the mediterain sea crashing against a rock outcrop with a lighthouse and three grand wooden ships full of dirty Italian men and beautiful sails approaching. Verus the annoyance of having to wake up at 6am and moving. Anyways, I’d rather be Italy then moving. Just my thought from those one lines on their own and never having read either one before.

    Like

    1. I think Book Beginnings was made for you! I don’t think I’ve ever read into a first sentence like you just have. You’ve renewed my interest in the Count of Monte Cristo!

      And I’ve read more of the knitting book and I’m unsure of it at this point… we shall see!

      Thanks for your great comment! 🙂

      Like

What do you think?

