Monday Musings

Musing Mondays (6)

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by Should Be Reading. Each Monday, a book- or reading-related question will be posted and we blog our answers, then link back to the original post. (You can find this week’s original post by clicking on the above image).

This week’s musing asks…

Do you listen to audiobooks? If not, why not? And, if so, what has been one of your favorites, so far?

I’ve only done a couple audiobooks.  My first attempt with an audiobook ended poorly.  In college my friend Allison and I decided to try an audiobook so we could knit while listening, since we both really liked to read and I was teaching her how to knit. (I use the term “teaching” lightly).  Anyway, the CD set we got was narrated by a man with an accent and he didn’t change his voice between narration and dialogue, or between characters; we quickly got confused and gave up.

The next time I tried an audiobook was earlier this year.  I listened to The History of English Literature. (see my review here).  It was a better experience, I think.  Plus, I was able to listen to it at work, which was pretty great.  It may have been easier for me since there it was a history rather than a novel.  There were no “characters” so it was easier to follow.

I would definitely like to try another audiobook sometime soon.  Any suggestions?

11 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (6)

  1. I actually really like audiobooks because I can listen to them at work. And they’re also really nice on the subway when it gets too loud to read “manually”. I definitely prefer audiobooks that don’t have a narrative with lots of characters or dialogue. So things like memoirs / essays / history I really enjoy. Bonus points if it’s read by the actual author of the book.

    Like

    1. I think I would rather listen to non-fiction books, too. Too many characters can be tough to follow with just your ears.

      I’m usually pretty good at blocking out any sounds around me, so unless I’m not really into it, almost nothing will distract me. 🙂

      Any suggestions?

      Like

      1. Anything by David Sedaris, because once you hear his voice it changes how you read his books. Really, any humorist/comedian will do it for me. But my personal favorite audiobook is probably “Outliers” Malcom Gladwell

        Like

        1. I LOVE David Sedaris! I think I have all of his books (or most of them, anyway). I should definitely see if I can borrow one of the audiobooks from the library. Great idea!

          I’ve heard of “Outliers” and saw it in the bookstore before, but I don’t know what it’s about…

          Like

    1. I bet that would be great! Have you heard of any good recordings that would use different voices for the characters?

      I heard that the A Song of Ice and Fire series is great audio. In fact, I think the guy who narrated the first four has the record for the most voices created for an audio book. I’d like to listen to those sometime, too!

      Like

      1. That sounds awesome. I just want to listen now to hear them all. I think Harry Potter does do different voices, but I think Stephen Fry actually does the audio for those and he has the perfect voice!

        Like

  2. I absolutely love audiobooks! I like how one can multitask while listening to them, and I think they add a really great dimension to the story, when they’re done well. I recommend the Harry Potter audiobooks–they’re fantastic! I’ve also listened to a handful of YA ones that I really liked, such as the Enchanted Forest Chronicles (Patricia C. Wrede), Ella Enchanted (Gail Carson Levine), and Trickster’s Choice (Tamora Pierce). I’m not sure how into YA you are, but those are all great choices if you’re looking to try out some more audiobooks!

    Like

    1. I am sometimes drawn to YA books, and not ashamed of it 🙂
      Cassie (you can see her comments here) also mentioned HP in audio form! I haven’t listened, but may have to check out my local library to see how it’s done!

      Thanks for the suggestions!

      Like

What do you think?

