With My Reading Buddy

With My Reading Buddy #4

A. and I completed another book and started another scary stories book… I just can’t get away from them!

The Franny K. Stein book was another book added to our folder by the program director. The Scary Stories book was, of course, found in the book bin by A. himself.

        

He enjoyed both of them, but of course, really like the Scary Stories one.  Actually, we’re still in the middle of reading it.  When he first picked it up, I thought it was the first one we had read, but he made very sure it was not.  He sometimes comments about similarities between the scary stories and the video games he plays (like Call of Duty).  I know, 8 years old and playing Call of Duty?

There are only 4 weeks left in the program and I can’t believe how quickly it went by.  I will definitely sign up to participate again next year and I hope A. does, too.  If he does, we will be partnered again because they like to keep the pairs together if both continue to participate until the student finishes the 4th grade. (the program runs  for 1st through 4th graders).

At the end of May there is going to be a Power Lunch End of Year Celebration.  It is a breakfast where the parents/guardians, teachers, students and mentors can celebrate the program.  There is also a breakfast, I think  (it is only an hour though).  Mentors are also asked to bring a book as a gift to their students.  I’m not sure what to get A. yet.  But I’m thinking a scary stories book, probably.  Maybe start with an R.L. Stein  Goosebumps or something.  Remember those?  I remember having a “create your own story” kind of book, where at the end of certain sections you can choose where to go next (“If you want to open the door, go to page 50. If you want to go in the basement, turn to page 52” type thing).  I kind of like the idea of the choose-where-to-go only because you can re-read and choose different “paths” each time…

What do you think? Any suggestions on what I should get him?

2 thoughts on “With My Reading Buddy #4

  1. These updates on your literacy program are probably some of my favourite posts. I would love to try and find a program like this once we are settled in Toronto and I actually have a job! I think Choose Your Own Adventure books are harder and harder to find but when you were talking about the books he enjoys I thought of Goosebumps right away too. It is always nice to start a kid off on a series (especially one as prolific as Goosebumps) as it gives you and the rest of the people in his life a good “go to” present for him.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! That means a lot.

      It took me a while to come to Goosebumps, actually. haha But I’ve definitely decided, especially the Choose Your Way because you can get multiple endings out of one book. I think he’ll enjoy it, and I did find some on Amazon during a cursory look!

      Like

What do you think?

