Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Blogs/Sites You Read That AREN’T About Books

The Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they choose a new topic for bloggers to list their top ten of whatever fits into the category. (the image above is linked to today’s post at The Broke and the Bookish)

This is a good one!  It helps promote non-book blogs that I read and really enjoy.  I think everyone should check these out!

1. *kind of* a grownup
This is one of my best friends’ blogs. She doesn’t post everyday, but her posts are great. Making her way through being a 20-something. She posts some really funny things, observations, and fun things about her upcoming wedding!

2. The Penguin Place Post
I love penguins. I have since high school, but I honestly can’t tell you why I started liking them, I just do. They’re cute and interesting creatures. Anyway, this follows a shop based in Massachusetts. They post articles about penguin happenings all over the world. Always some good tidbits of information and interesting facts!

3. Love and a Six-Foot Leash
I LOVE reading this blog whenever a new post comes up. It’s about a dog-foster family and their dogs. Both started out as fosters and have now become “forever dogs.” I’ve been following for a few months now, not too long after they got Snickerdoodle as a foster. They found out that he had severe heartworms and had to take care of him, and during that time they decided to keep him. Reading the posts about him and Sir Chick (their first forever dog) makes my heart smile. Every Friday Sir Chick posts something. I love reading Chix-a-Lot Fridays!

4. Mrs. Pea’s Perspectives
Mrs. Pea is such a crafty lady! She has her own etsy shop, which you should check out. Some really great handmade crafts can be found! I enjoy reading her blog posts about her crafts and just her everyday happenings!

5. Second Lunch
A hilarious blog-comics combo. You should definitely check this out. The graphics are clever and the commentary is so funny! I definitely enjoying reading it whenever a new post comes up!

6. dresses and me
Since I recently started sewing classes, I’ve noticed a few more sewing blogs out there (especially when I’ve used sewing tags and they’ve found my blog!). Dresses and me is one of those. She has some great projects she’s posted on her site and it’s interesting to read about things I don’t really know yet, but hope to soon!

7. Cotton Handy
Another sewing blog. Dani also has some great projects and pictures. She has pictures of some really cute projects she’s recently completed. I look forward to reading her posts since I’m new to the world of sewing.

8. Sarah Smiles Awhile
This doesn’t seem to be a specific blog (like a book or craft blog) but I guess a “general” blog. But I don’t like saying “general” because I don’t want that to sound boring. Sarah has some really great posts on here. It’s always great to read what she has to write!

9. Highest Form of Whit
A funny and very fun blog to read!

10. Remain Insane
I only recently started following this blog (about a week ago), so I’ve only read a bit. And while she does mention books, this is more than a book blog. So far it’s been fun to read and I look forward to more!

There are a few that I follow on Google Reader that aren’t book blogs (like winteriscoming.net, which is all about Game of Thrones, the HBO TV show, but is based on the books, so I didn’t include it in my list, and dictionary.com word of the day, and a quote of the day…both those aren’t really blogs…hehe).

So it was a bit harder than I thought, I follow WAY more book blogs than anything else! (And while going through the list of blogs I follow, I was able to do some “housekeeping”!)

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Blogs/Sites You Read That AREN’T About Books

    1. ahhhh! I updated this draft last night so I could post it this morning. I posted it from my phone, so I hope it was lost in translation there and that I don’t have to re do the whole thing!

      Like

  1. I posted on this topic too and realize I stopped following almost everything except book blogs. So I’m loving everyone’s lists, so I can diversify and find some cool sites.

    Like

  2. What a great list! Definitely going to have to check them out…I love that you stuck to bloggers like us, as well. More fun to check out…I don’t need more recommendations to check out facebook and pinterest.

    Like

What do you think?

