Book Beginnings on Friday

Book Beginnings on Fridays (9)

Book Beginnings on Fridays is a weekly meme hosted by Gilion over at Rose City Reader.  She recently took over this weekly meme.  Basically, we post the opening sentence for whatever book we are reading and what we think about it.  I’ve never really done anything like that, and only occasionally pay attention to the first sentence of book…usually only if it really appeals to me. Clicking the image above will take you to Gilion’s Book Beginning for today.

“8 April 1817
Rushton Manor, Essex
Dearest Kate,
It is dreadfully flat here since you have been gone, and it only makes it worse to imagine all the things I shall be missing.”
Sorcery & Cecelia Or The Enchanted Chocolate Pot, Patricia C. Wrede & Caroline Stevermer

This is one of my NetGalley books for review.  I”ll be posting my review over the weekend.  Some interesting finds along the way.

Have you read this?

 

UNRELATED SIDENOTE: this is my 100th post!!! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Book Beginnings on Fridays (9)

  1. Congrats on 100 posts!
    A letter is a great way to start a book – it introduces at least 2 of the characters straight away, with their own voice and relationship on show from the start.

    Like

    1. Yes, I find it pretty interesting. I heard it started out as a game between the two authors, which makes the book sound like it must have been fun to write. 🙂

      Thanks for commenting and following, I’ll be sure to pop on over to your blog!

      Like

What do you think?

