Sewing

Sewing Funtime (4)

We had our fourth class last night.  We made our second pillow, one with a zipper this time. I could have used the same material as the first, but I decided I just wanted random patterns since these are learning projects.  You saw my choice in (Sewing Funtime (2))

Adding the zipper was easier than I anticipated, though I did make a careless mistake that bummed me out a bit (more because I made the error than the fact that it’s visible on the pillow).  Also, had I realized that the stitching would show on the outside around the zipper, I would have used black thread.  But the zipper will be on the bottom of the pillow, so it’s not a big deal. (and I didn’t know which stripe the zipper would end up on anyway)

I’m still really happy with how it turned out.

And a note that I don’t think I mentioned before: each pillow is 14″x14″  (the required pillow sizes were either that, 16″x16″, or 18″x18″)

Next week we start the pajama pants!  We’ll be following a pattern this time.  I’m excited to see how that works.

I think I mentioned that there are two other levels of sewing classes at the BCAE.  I’m definitely planning to sign up for level two, which is home decor.  And I think I will consider signing up for level three (a project of my choice).  I think I’d like to make a dress.  That would be fun!  (I really need a giant craft room….)

(and for now, I think I’m going to nix the Crafty Thursday posts…I know I won’t have lots of updates on those different crafts each week..maybe I’ll change it into a monthly type thing eventually, but for now, I’m going to hold off)

What do you think?

