Monday Musings

Musing Mondays (10)

 

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by Should Be Reading. Each Monday, a book-related question will be posted and we blog our answers, then link back to the original post. (You can find this week’s original post by clicking on the above image).

This week’s musing asks…

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop and look it up right away?

What a great question!

When I was little, I would ask my parents what a word meant and they would tell me to look it up in the dictionary.  I didn’t always do that, though. If I couldn’t figure out the word using the context, I would usually just let it go.  Most  often, I was on a train or somewhere where a dictionary was not readily available, and then I would forget to check it out later.

But now that I have my Kindle, I can just move the cursor to whatever word I want to look up and the definition pops up.  So easy!  I’ve had the Kindle for about a year now, but only recently really started utilizing the dictionary feature.  Especially with books written a long time ago!

What about you?

9 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (10)

  1. If its for work and I have to answer then yes I’ll look it up immediately. If its while I am reading for pleasure its 50/50, sometimes I do & sometimes I don’t depending on my mood.

    Like

  2. Gosh, I used to all the time, but then I tailed off. Two things have got me doing it again: my girls with their reading – if mum looks up words, so do they; and having a Kindle reader app – it has that automatic dictionary function.

    Like

What do you think?

