Monthly Wrap-Up

Monthly Wrap-Up: May 2012

So I’m a day late in posting this… whoops!  I realized last night as I was getting into bed that it was May 31. (you would think I would have a better memory for dates since I work with calendars all day long, but I guess not!)

Back to the Classics Challenge: 3/9 (33.3%)
The number hasn’t changed, but I AM working my way through The Count of Monte Cristo and hope to have it finished to add to next (this) month’s wrap up!

What’s in a Name? Challenge: 1/6 (16.7%)
Still only at 1/6.  I’ve neglected this challenge, but my hope is to increase this by 1 for next month.  

50 States Challenge: 5/50 (10%)
No change since last month. 

Historical Fiction Challenge: 5/20 (25%)
Well, I added 2 more to this challenge!  Hooray.  One I still haven’t reviewed… I’ll get to it, I swear!

Mount TBR Challenge: 3/25 (12%)
Stayed the same, but The Count of Monte Cristo will satisfy this challenge as well, so I know at least one more will be added for next (this) month’s wrap-up.

Overall Reading Challenge: 20/75 (26.7%)
This has increased by three, but based on that progress (3/month) I definitely won’t reach my goal of 75!

I think for next year I may hold back on the challenges, or not take part in as many.  Not that I don’t enjoy them, it’s fun to post reviews and get people’s feedback, especially when they are people you would never have reached otherwise.   But I think I feel restricted in my books, especially because I selected some of them at the beginning of the year when I began the challenge.  Since I’ve charged myself with the task of reading specific titles, I almost feel bound to them and that I HAVE to read them, rather than want to read them.  So if I do choose to participate next year, I think I’ll definitely be more relaxed about it.  But I will continue to keep 75 my yearly goal until I meet or surpass it; then I’ll bump it up.

6 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: May 2012

  1. I definitely know what you mean about the challenges. I somehow ended up picking roughly half of my yearly reading average which is great – but I still feel the pressure!

    I’m already debating on next year – I may do what Susan Hill did and just read novels I own or spend the year mostly re-reading stuff that I haven’t read since High School. Could be really interesting or really boring. I think 60 is a good number 5 per month – doubt I’ll ever change my goal to be more than that.

    Good luck hitting the 75!

    Like

    1. That’s a good idea, just stick with what’s on the shelves/Kindle already and then select more… Maybe that could be my goal next year: whatever is left standing at the end of this year. Thanks!

      I almost feel like I’m being help accountable to you guys because I said I’d do it one way and then I don’t follow through, you know what I mean? The good thing is, it’s my blog so I can choose which way to take it, and I’m not REALLY being held accountable… 🙂

      Good luck with your goal, too!

      Like

      1. Haahaa I know what you mean – but that’s when you have to go back to why you started the blog. Did you start it for your own thoughts or to reach other people? I’ve decided I’m selfish and it’s mostly for me. Meeting all the book bloggers has just been an added benefit and if they like what I decide to do then whoohoo! If not, I’ll still interact on their blogs you know?

        Like

        1. Yes, it definitely has been great “meeting” new people. Some great conversations and comments have been made and I enjoy that. My primary reason was to reach people with/through/about books, and it seems I’ve done that as I have a few regular visitors, which is great! And I also know that there is support for when I’m looking at different directions, etc. Thanks for being one of those people!

          Like

  2. I love challenges too but got so wrapped up in them last year that I ended up getting a bit burnt out. This year I’m not really officially participating in many and haven’t set a total reading goal for the year, although I do have a figure in my head that I would love to achieve. But it’s more important to read because you want to and just for the fun of it, or else it turns into a job.

    Like

    1. I completely agree! I’m starting to feel obligated to do these, and though I love reading, that was always part of the reason why I wasn’t excited to read books for school, because we HAD to. So I’m definitely going to cut back next year.

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who has done this!

      Like

What do you think?

