Sewing

Sewing Funtime (7)

We had our last class this Thursday night.  It went by so quickly.  But it was fun 🙂

We finished our pajama pants!  I think we were all really proud of ourselves for making them.  Everyone had different patterns and they all looked great.  In retrospect, I probably could have gone down a size instead of going up, but hey, it’s the first pair of pants I ever made!  (My biggest issue is that the pant legs are so wide…I have a big bum, not legs!…and maybe that the crotch seam is a bit long)

TA-DA!
from the side

I know the picture quality isn’t great.  I had to take it through my mirror since I was home alone.  The pant legs are a little long, but that’s because I didn’t do it according to my inseam.  Just because I’m slightly shorter than average doesn’t mean I have to get petite clothes!

Anyway, it only took the first 45 minutes to finish the pants (setting up, watching the demonstration and then doing it).  Julia (the instructor) was very excited when we finished our pants and encouraged us to put them on so she could see.

After the pants were done we took the next hour-ish to make our last pillow.  It’s a bolster pillow.  I told M he could pick out the fabric for it last week, so he picked a nice, bright orange (reminiscent of Rickie Fowler – the golfer who wears a bright orange golf outfit every Sunday).  This pillow was WAY easier than I was expecting.  In fact, the hardest part was – well, there was no hardest part.  Everything we had to do with this pillow we had learned doing the other projects.

the ribbons on the ends aren’t all that manly

I’m seriously considering jumping right into Level 2 instead of waiting a session cycle.  They’re having a deal right now on summer classes and I would save 30%.  And I have my basic “equipment” so really all I would need to buy is fabric/thread.  It’s the same time, just on Tuesdays instead of Thursdays, which still works with my schedule.

4 thoughts on “Sewing Funtime (7)

    1. Thank you! 🙂 They’re too big, but it’s not like I’m wearing them out anywhere.

      There’s a lot more to it than I thought, but it’s fun. You should try it! It’s exciting to see a finished project.

      Like

What do you think?

