Monthly Wrap-Up

Monthly Wrap-Up: June 2012

Here’s my June wrap-up (two days late…it would have been 1 day late, but my computer froze last night…).
(PS I got my old laptop from college up and running so hopefully things will go smoothly, as least for a little while!)

Back to the Classics Challenge: 4/9 (44.4%)
First, I need to note that I officially gave up on Moby Dick as my 19th century challenge read. Instead I decided to read The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson.  So at least I’ve increased the total read.

What’s in a Name? Challenge: 1/6 (16.7%)
Still only the one… I think I need to work on books for this challenge this month…

50 States Challenge: 5/50 (10%)
And still the same here…

Historical Fiction Challenge: 6/20 (30%)
Ok, I added 1! 🙂

Mount TBR Challenge: 4/25 (16%)
And I added 1 more here too!

Overall Reading Challenge: 23/75 (30.7%)
I’m getting there!  (According to Goodreads I’m about 14 books behind schedule, but with a trip coming up that involves flying for ~5 hours each way, I know I’ll be able to play some catch-up and then again in December on another ~5 hour-each-way-flight trip…)

How are you guys doing with your challenges?

10 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: June 2012

  1. I love the Goodreads progress bar only because it almost always says I’m ahead – I can’t imagine what I’d do if every time I logged in it was like CATCH UP! HURRY UP! YOU’RE LATE! (No pressure though – I’m definitely of the mindset challenges and numbers are arbitrary even though I’m working hard to finish all mine.)

    And YAY for the(/a) computer being back up and running!

    Like

    1. haha I feel guilty when I look at the progress bar, then say “well you don’t know my reading habits, I’ll catch up!” 🙂

      And yes, hopefully it’ll last for a bit…now I’ll just need to get a new phone….

      Like

  2. Also, randomly, I started The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks this morning at the gym and am already 25% through. I’m really enjoying Skloot’s writing and story-telling abilities so far! I’m definitely glad tomorrow is a holiday as I just want to read all day today (and tomorrow)!

    Like

    1. So glad you like it! I enjoyed it too, the back and forth between the science story and Henrietta’s story! I read some reviews on Goodreads that really bashed Skloot, but I didn’t see it that way.

      I’m pumped for the holiday, too!

      Happy 4th! 🙂

      Like

        1. awww that stinks when you can’t get into a book and you don’t have other options! But relaxing on a beach is really nice without a book, too!

          I went camping this weekend and brought my Kindle, bu didn’t do any reading!

          Like

What do you think?

