Monday Musings

Musing Mondays (12)

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading. Each Monday, she asks a book-related question and we blog our answers, then link back to her original post. (You can find this week’s post by clicking on the above image).

This week’s musing asks…

What are you currently reading? Is it any good? Would you recommend it?

I’m kind of reading a few different books right now.  My long-term is The Count of Monte Cristo. But I guess I shouldn’t say I’m “currently” reading it since I haven’t picked it up in a month or so.

I’m also taking a hiatus from The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams, which is a compilation of all 5 books.  I’m about halfway through book 3. Books 1 and 2 were very entertaining but I’ve hit a little wall with it. (It was our June read for the book club on Goodreads you can see in my right sidebar…our first book, and I think maybe slightly ambitious for me to think I could finish all 5 in a month…on top of my other reads).

But I’m reading a book called Plague of Coins by Aiden James. I found this on Amazon (Kindle) and am planning to use it for the What’s in a Name? Challenge.  I’m halfway through it.  Not sure how much I really like it, though.  I’ve come across some very basic grammar mistakes and I really don’t care for the main character all that much….

I also just started Little Bee by Chris Cleave last night.   I borrowed this from my old manager months and months and months ago and it’s been sitting on my shelf.  I asked her about a book I lent her month and months and months ago and then realized that I still had one of hers, but still hadn’t read it.  I figured I might as well at least try the first chapter before giving it back to her.  I read about 1.5 chapters before I went to bed, and I haven’t decided whether to continue reading it or not.  (I forgot to bring it to work today, so I have another night to read a bit more if I choose).  So I don’t have an opinion yet.  Though my old manager said that it was a tough book to get through and she really wasn’t sure which character to “root” for, so I was kind of expecting to not be able to get through the first chapter, but I did.  We’ll see.    Has anyone read it?  Any opinions?

Yay!  Posting my first weekly meme in a while 🙂

5 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (12)

  1. I thought Little Bee was a happy store (all of my happy-book-only friends are obsessed with it) but maybe not. If you have to choose a character to root for, maybe it’s a hard book.

    Like

What do you think?

