Back to the Classics Challenge · Book Review

REVIEW: The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

The Secret Garden
Author: Frances Hodgson Burnett
Kindle edition

Goodreads Synopsis: A ten-year-old orphan comes to live in a lonely house on the Yorkshire moors where she discovers an invalid cousin and the mysteries of a locked garden. 

Burnett’s classic story of a disagreeable and self-centered little girl and her equally disagreeable invalid cousin is as real and wise and enthralling now as it was when it was first written over 75 years ago. The strength of her characterizations pulls readers into the story, and the depth inherent in the seemingly simple plot continues to make this sometimes forgotten story as vital to the maturation of young readers as Tom Sawyer and Little Women. Hague’s illustrations enhance the story beautifully, capturing as they do, both the old-fashioned and timeless quality of the tale. The charm, clarity, and muted tones of Hague’s paintings add dimension to each part of the tale. A reissue of an old classic to be treasured by a new generation of children (and their parents)!

This was the first time I ever read this book.  Amazing, right?  I had a soft cover version of the book when I was younger, but I don’t really recall reading it and I’m thinking it may have been a condensed version.

Anyway, I absolutely loved this book.  It really was just a lovely, enchanting story.  All of the characters had such great development and found what they needed, even if they didn’t realize there was something to need or want.

I really don’t have anything bad to say about this story except that I wish I hadn’t waited so long to read it!

If you haven’t read it yet, please do so.  If you have, please share your thoughts!

14 thoughts on “REVIEW: The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

  1. This was one of my favourites as a child. Now in my work I’ve tried to design a playspace with a Secret garden theme, although I can’t manage the high walls in a public space, but hopefully there will be some of the same character.

    Like

      1. Well, I work as a Landscape Architect, but among other things I write, mostly sci-fi, but also general fiction and some poetry. Variety is the spice of life they say! 🙂

        Like

What do you think?

