Book Review

REVIEW: The Many Lives of Lilith Lane – Episode IV

Related Posts
Episode I
Episode II
Episode III

This is a review of the fourth installment of E. V. Anderson’s The Many Lives of Lilith Lane.

This is the last installment I have access to and I’ve already asked when I can get the fifth one. This entire episode takes place in the alternate reality.

The killer in the original reality may not be the kidnapper in the alternate reality; at least clues are pointing away from that.  Actually, clues aren’t pointing to anyone, but certain aspects of the original reality are not present in the alternate reality (for example, a basement is set up differently in the alternate reality).   It could perhaps be someone else that I’m thinking of, but I think I’m only considering this person based on too many crime television shows (I’ve been watching a lot of SVU lately…) where that particular scenario could play out, but that’s probably wrong.  In the alternate reality, I don’t have a good grasp on who the kidnapper could be.

In fact, based on the happenings in the alternate reality, a number of characters have been crossed off Lilith’s suspect list, leaving pretty much only one.  And by the way things are going, it looks like this person is guilty; we’ll see.

We see and learn more about Michael, Dr. Hammer’s assistant, who is clearly smitten with Lilith but apparently she’s oblivious. He tells his history so matter-of-fact that it’s kind of awkward.  Lilith comments that he says it with almost no emotion.  Is this a clue to anything?

We also get to learn more about the alternate reality counterparts to some of the other characters we met earlier on in the original reality.  (I hope I’m not confusing people with all the “realities”!)  I’m curious to see how the rest will play out in the 5th installment.

This episode ends in a cliffhanger, so I look forward to reading the last installment to learn the rest and discover what happens in the alternate reality, whether Lilith returns to the original reality, and which characters play the biggest roles.  I would love to be completely surprised as to the rest of the story, because we all know a good mystery keeps readers questioning, but I don’t want to get my hopes up too high just in case.  Fingers crossed it’s a good one! (and fingers crossed I can get the last installment very soon!)

One thought on “REVIEW: The Many Lives of Lilith Lane – Episode IV

What do you think?

