WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday (13)

www_wednesdays43

WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading.  Click the image to be taken to MizB’s WWW post for today.  To play along, answer the following three questions and share a link to your post in the comments on her page. If you don’t have a blog, feel free to leave your WWW right in the comments.

What are you currently reading?
Alternating between Committed: A Skeptic Makes Peace with Marriage by Elizabeth Gilbert & Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card

What did you recently finish reading?
11/22/63 by Stephen King

What do you think you’ll read next?
I’m hoping that some of the books for the Tournament of Books that I’m waiting for from the library will be available soon.  From the looks of the waitlist at the library, Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk by Ben Fountain should be next!  We’ll see.

19 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday (13)

    1. Ha! I read Ender’s Game two years ago, so I’m hoping it’s OK that some time has passed between the two books. I’m only a short way into Speaker for the Dead right now.

      Like

    1. I definitely want to read the first Bean one, too. As I mentioned in my reply to Geoff, it’s been about 2 years since I read Ender’s Game, so I hope the time in between doesn’t make a difference!

      Like

        1. I know exactly what you mean!

          I think Speaker for the Dead was written a while after Ender’s Game (and it takes place 3000 years after Ender’s Game) so I don’t think you really have to read it again before Speaker for the Dead (so far I don’t feel like I need to go back to it, anyway!)

          Like

    1. Do you like The Casual Vacancy? I’ve heard mixed reviews.

      Committed is not bad; but not like Eat, Pray, Love and she notes that at the beginning that it won’t be similar. It highlights a lot of research she’s done on marriage; but she does have some travels and related stories of encounters with the locals, which is like EPL.

      Like

      1. There is no central character in Casual Vacancy so far, which is hard for me. I like to latch onto one person. But the story is intriguing. I’m not very far in, though, so we’ll see.

        Like

    1. Thanks! Committed is good, but as I mentioned in another reply, it’s not like EPL; much more based on her research on marriage.

      The King book was good, but not my favorite of his and I’ve read better from him (but also worse, too!)

      Like

What do you think?

