Book Review · Tournament of Books

REVIEW: Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk by Ben Fountain

Billy Lynn's Long Halftime WalkBilly Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk
Ben Fountain
Kindle edition (borrowed from library)

Click the image to go to the Goodreads page for the synopsis. It’s kind of hard for me to summarize this without being too trivial or too in-depth.

This is another book toward the Tournament of Books.

The entire book takes place during the Dallas Cowboys/Chicago Bears Thanksgiving day football game but Billy has flashbacks so the reader sees more than just the one day.

It was a good story but I’m not sure I feel about the writing and the book in general.  The style of it made me think of the “free writing” exercises I used to do in a creative writing class in high school, where we would just write the first things that came into our heads, no matter if they made sense or not.  Not that the book didn’t make sense, it made perfect sense, but I guess I mean more of the flow of the story. I’m still processing it.

There were some parts that I felt so bad for the Bravo Squad; like seriously? Do you not realize that a halftime show with fireworks and smoke and pyrotechnics and loud bangs might have a negative effect on these young guys fresh back from war who are on their way back??  Talk about early onset PTSD. As the Goodreads synopsis says, it is definitely a heartbreaking story.  I think this may be one of those stories that I’ll randomly find myself thinking of weeks or months from now.

The narrator’s voice is one I’ve never really read before; one that grew up quickly on the battlefield and is learning life’s hard truths; the voice of a young guy quite literally forced into the situation.

Sorry for the half-assed “review”; I definitely need more time to process.

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk by Ben Fountain

  1. Pingback: enchantedbybooks

What do you think?

