Book Review

REVIEW: Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Insurgent (Divergent, #2)Insurgent
Veronica Roth
Kindle edition (borrowed from library)

Goodreads Synopsis: Tris’s initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable—and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so.

This is the second installment of the Divergent trilogy. It’s been a while since I read the first one (in October), so I was a little rusty when I finally got this digital copy from the library.  (Sidenote: I actually got the digital copy from the library in December and then my Kindle keyboard froze on me, so I had to return the book without reading it.  When I got my new Kindle Paperwhite, I requested the book again and was on hold for a while).

Anyway, it’s a good story, picks up pretty much exactly where the first one ended (if memory serves me correctly).  It actually shows Tris suffering from something like PTSD, and it’s no wonder.  It’s pretty amazing what these young kids (teenagers!) can do, and how well they do it, when it’s the only thing they’re ever taught.

There is a lot of internal searching for Tris in this book,  I think.  I thought it was well done, though sometimes I forgot she was only, what, 16? It’s a pretty harsh world these people live in, so I guess they have to grow up faster than kids in our reality.

This ends on a huge revelation that throws everyone into an uproar.  In fact, the last line of the book is

Then the shouting begins. (page 525)

I look forward to the third book, currently unnamed, due out later this year.

I was surprised to learn how young Roth is (born in 1988), so perhaps this is one of the reasons why she chose a younger character age.  The books are extremely well written for someone so young.

 

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Insurgent by Veronica Roth

What do you think?

