With My Reading Buddy

With My Reading Buddy – May 2013

withmyreadingbuddy

My second year as a Power Lunch mentor came to a close last week. The program has a new name “Read to a Child” (instead of Everybody WINS!)

Anyway, my buddy and I were able to finish all 4 Zac Power books before the year ended, so that was good!

Last week there was a year-end celebration at the school where all the students who participated got a certificate of completion (and the 4th graders got a “graduation” certificate, since that’s the highest grade that participates).

My buddy and I will have one more year left together before he “graduates”. He gave me a card that says “Thanks for reading me the Zac Power books.” Β He’s too cute.

I ended up getting him the first 2 Goosebumps books. Not the read-your-own-adventure ones like I got him last year, but the regular books. I remembered I had a bag of books from when I was younger still at my parents house so one weekend I went over there and went through it and found a few books my buddy might like. They were all in good condition, so I thought it would be a great idea to pass them on – why should they sit in a bag where no one reads them, you know? He was happy to get the 2 books and I think he’ll actually read them over the summer!

So, school’s out! (for me at least) πŸ™‚

What do you think?

