General

Vacations

Vacations are fun, I think we can all agree. Sometimes they don’t always go according to our plan, but sometimes that makes them better.

The last couple of years I’ve gone on a week-long vacation to Aruba at the beginning of December. It’s a lovely island and you can do as much or as little as you want – there are plenty of things to do.  And everyone is super friendly! (I definitely recommend you go at least once!)

However, with a wedding coming up next year, I’m trying to be more financially conscious/responsible and don’t want to spend too much on a vacation this year. I obviously deserve the time off and want to (and need to, for my sanity!).

So I’ve thought about doing long weekends instead of a full week. Though I’m not opposed to closer, cheaper vacations.  Does anyone have any ideas for long weekend vacations (more specifically on the east coast of the US)?

Just a little while ago I saw a commercial for Hershey, PA and I’ve never been, so I thought that might be a good one to do. (I may or may not have seen that commercial on the Disney Channel while watching Monsters, Inc. by myself…)  And I’d love to do a weekend in Washington, D.C. (another place I’ve never been) and definitely NYC (and now that I’m into sewing, I want to go to Mood!). But if anyone has any out-of-the-box suggestions, I’d love to hear them, so put them in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Vacations

  1. I went to Hershey and wasn’t crazy about it, but if you’re in Pennsylvania they have a sesame street themed waterpark. Perhaps a little bit baby-ish but they rides have been a lot of fun any time I’ve gone. Ocean city New Jersey was cool too. I feel like Pennsylvania/Jersey might be something you want to devote more than a weekend to though just because of how much driving is involved.

    Like

  2. You should definitely look at homeaway.com and similar sites as you can find some really nice places in like the mountains or on the coast with pools. And just go stay somewhere else for a week and enjoy the quiet.

    Like

What do you think?

