Sewing

Pillowcase Dresses

In my catch up post a couple of weeks ago, I mentioned that I was helping out a co-worker who was going on a relief mission by sewing up some dresses. Well, I finally finished the couple I had to do. I was procrastinating a bit, and then when I finally sat down to do them, I was only able to complete one as I had to go out and buy more bias tape, which I wasn’t able to do until yesterday. In total though, it probably only took me 2-3 hours to do both of them.

A little more information on her relief trip: she is going to Malawi, Africa with an organization called Villages in Partnership. She went last year and is returning again to do the same thing: help set up and run medical and dental clinics for the people who live there. They have a list of items requested (like pain medicines for adults and children– like Tylenol, Advil, etc., gently used prescription glasses, and other everyday items.). This year, as I mentioned in that earlier post, she wanted to include home-sewn clothing as well.

The dresses that I hemmed were a couple of different colors: 2 orange ones and 2 purple ones. I kept 1 purple one with me so I could use it as a guide to sew the remaining 2 blue ones.

20150502_214655
purple fabric

They’re very simple to put together and really cute!

20150502_213048
twins
shoulder tie
shoulder tie
close up of fabric pattern
close up of fabric pattern

I’ll be giving them to my co-worker on Monday when we get back to work. I hope they make some of the little girls happy!

What do you think?