30 by 30

30 by 30: #13, #14, #26

I’ve decided to combine the posts for these 3 items because they all share the same reason I was/will be unable to complete them by my birthday: we’re having a baby! (I’ll post more about that later :))

#13: Lose 15 pounds
I really didn’t start making a true effort until January 1, when hubby and I started using the MyFitnesspal App and being more conscious of the types of food we were eating and the portion sizes.

Prior to getting pregnant I had lost a little over 5 pounds and I was really proud of myself for sticking with it. Of all the times I’ve tried to lose weight, this was the first time I had written down mini goals. I think it helped because it was more motivating to see “1.4 pounds to go” instead of “11.4 pounds to go” (those numbers are just examples).

#14: Cut 5 minutes off my Calle’s Miracle Run 5K time
I participated in the first 2 Calle’s Miracle Runs which help raise money and awareness for DIPG, a terrible, inoperable brain tumor that affects young children. Most do not survive one year after diagnosis. Family friends started a non-profit, Hope for Caroline, when their little girl was diagnosed in 2013. Unfortunately, she passed away last year. Here’s a link to Calle’s Miracle Run website, where you can learn more about Calle’s story.

This was to be the 3rd year I was going to run, and I had every intention of training and beating my previous time (as you can tell by the title of this 30×30 goal).

After learning that I was pregnant, I was uncertain whether training and running (since it wasn’t something I was doing normally) was a good idea, and so I decided to err on the side of caution and not run. Looking back, I realize I probably could have walked it. I was still in the nauseous period at the time of the Run so in the end I think I made the right decision. I was bummed I didn’t participate, but there’s always next year (and maybe I’ll include a jogging stroller)!

#26: Take a boxing class
Bought a Groupon: $30 for 4 classes, 1 personal training session, and gloves with ilovekickboxing.com. Was super excited to use it, but again, after finding out I was pregnant, knew this was an activity I would not be able to participate in just yet. And unfortunately, the Groupon was only good for a certain amount of time. This is definitely something I’d like to try at some point!

4 thoughts on “30 by 30: #13, #14, #26

What do you think?

