Book Review · Monthly Wrap-Up

May Reads

As you can see in my reading list for this year, it’s been slow going and I didn’t even finish any books in April. I found that for a chunk of time early in my pregnancy, I didn’t feel like doing much, even reading. I watched a lot of TV, actually.

I started picking up the reading again in May, though there were only 2 books completed.

11. Titanic: Voices of the Disaster, Deborah Hopkinson
This was a really good book looking into the Titanic from the point of view of her passengers. My dad is a huge Titanic buff so growing up I learned a lot about the Titanic. So from time to time I still catch myself reading a book about it or watching one of the TV specials on History Channel, Discovery Channel, etc.

It was also a sad look into the tragedy, reading the hope and excitement from letters of the passengers and knowing what was coming. Definitely eye-opening though to see what people were like at the time and on the ship. (and I must say that Bruce Ismay was quite a coward!)

A sad fact of the Titanic is that it’s really only famous for its sinking. Had it gone smoothly, it would have only gone down in history as the largest and grandest ship of her time.


12. A Feast for Crows (A Song of Ice and Fire #4), George R R Martin
This is a re-read for me. I only read it once when I bought the first 4 books back around 2006, and though the 5th book didn’t come out until 2011, I did not re-read book  before reading book 5 (I should have). It was definitely a good refresher as there were some details I definitely didn’t remember. I also wanted to re-read this one because it was being reflected in the newest season on HBO. And to be honest, I really wanted to re-read it more to see where the books and TV show diverged (and there were many places!). A couple of my friends watch the show but do not read the books and we’d do recaps within a day or 2 of the episodes and more often than not when they’d ask a question I found myself saying “well it’s different in the books so I’m not sure how they’ll play it out in the show” or “that doesn’t happen in the books so I have no idea where they’re going with it.”

It’ll be hard for me to separate this from book 5 since I read them back to back (finished it n June, so I’ll write a little more in that post). But there was so much that happened and like I said above, a good amount of stuff that I didn’t remember well. It definitely got me back on track and hoping for book 6 even more now!

6 thoughts on “May Reads

    1. The show is pretty decent. It’s great to see some of the characters come to life, especially with the likes of Peter Dinklage, Lena Heady, etc. portraying them.

      But even if you don’t watch the show I still encourage a re-read if it’s been a while because you’ll be surprised at what you’ve forgotten or how you might have remembered certain details differently than they occurred. (At least that’s what happened to me!)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. pregnancy and the first year after the birth of my daughter were periods of almost no reading for me. I hope you have better reading success than I did. I have to read Feast of Crows since I’ve finished the first three. It’s been languishing on my nightstand for months

    Like

    1. A few of my other friends have said the same thing happened to them! I assume I won’t read at thr same level as I have the past few years (I mean, I’m not near those numbers now!) but I hope I’ll be able to squeeze a little in, at least! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

