Mom Musings

Mom Musings: On Being a First Time Mom

As mentioned in a previous post, I’ll be posting periodically about the new mom life. This isย the first in that series, “Mom Musings”. (original name, right? ah well)

Baby D is already 3 months old and I can’t believe how quickly the time has gone by (I return to work tomorrow)! While I absolutely love how alert, smiley, and happy he is, a part of me already misses when he was just a few weeks old.

Aside from the million pictures we take each day, I specifically take pictures on his monthly birthday (the 6th of each month) with those cute little stickers. I was comparing the last 3 months the other day and I cannot believe the changes. I don’t really notice it day-to-day but when I look back, it’s amazing. Sometimes I can see the little boy he’ll be and it’s truly unbelievable.

I expected becoming a parent would be hard, but there were definitely times where I wasn’t expecting just how hard it could be (3 weeks of colic anyone?). But I wouldn’t trade it for anything. I love watching him sleep and discover his voice, his hands, his reflection, Sonny, etc. It’s wonderful. It’s so amazing when his face breaks out into a huge smile just for me.

I’m so excited to take this journey with my husband by my side. I wouldn’t want anyone else to do this with me. Everyday I’m hit again with the realization that this baby is ours to raise and nurture and love unconditionally. I only hope we’re able to be the best mom and dad he needs us to be.

How did you feel the first time you became a mom/dad? Do you have any advice for newbie parents?

3 thoughts on “Mom Musings: On Being a First Time Mom

  1. When I was pregnant an aunt bought me a book – Gina Ford – The Contented Baby Book. I read it before he was born, it was all about getting them into a strict routine. I thought I’d never have a life! But then he came along and I realised I didn’t have one and followed her routines and advice.
    He slept so much! And fed so well! He was definitely a contented baby like the book said! I recommended it to lots of my friends and all those who used it loved it too.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s worth a look, H used to have 12 hours at night then 3 more during the day!! I always made sure I was home for his lunch nap which was restrictive with what I wanted to do, but paid off as he had a long nap until he was 3. That’s when I could put my feet up! ๐Ÿ’ค๐Ÿ’ค๐Ÿ’ค

        Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

