Sewing · The Monthly Stitch Challenge

Monthly Stitch Challenge: January – Cheers for New Year!

2016_01_badge

As mentioned in my Looking Ahead post, I wanted to participate in The Monthly Stitch‘s Monthly Challenge. January’s theme is Cheers for New Year and we’re supposed to sew something inspired by a favorite drink. I’ve been on a tea thing since my birthday back in November (I recently bought a tea for two set for myself as a birthday present along with loose leaf tea samples of a bunch of different teas) so I decided to use that as my inspiration.

I decided I wanted to make a cardigan as it made me think of curling up in a comfy chair with a cup of tea and a good book. I found the Ladies Library Cardigan by Little Lizard King Sewing Patterns on Etsy and thought it was the perfect make. (I didn’t need to tackle button holes just yet!) It was an automatic download so I had to print out all the pages and tape them together. (I’ve done pdf patterns before and I much prefer paper patterns; taping the pages together takes up so much time! — However, I try to keep them in good condition, or trace them onto Swedish tracing paper so I can re-use them.) One of the great things with this pdf is the ability to remove the lines for the sizes you don’t need. They use the overlap feature in Adobe so you can uncheck the sizes you don’t need. Brilliant! (and they provided full instructions on how to do this and how to do it if you needed to grade from one size to another)

Originally, I wanted to make the sweater in grey with purple elbow patches, but then I thought about a navy cardigan with grey or cream elbow patches, which might get more use. BUT I just couldn’t find any fabric that called out to me in the store. I started considering other color combos but just wasn’t feeling anything I saw.

Then, I never got ’round to actually properly setting up my sewing space this month. And going back to work and taking care of a 3 month old just took over and before I knew it, the month was over.

So all that to say I didn’t make anything this month, despite all my ideas/plans. However, I really do like the pattern and hope to find the fabric I want and make it within the next month or so. I need to find other fabric stores nearby other than Joann’s (buying online is fine, but I like to walk up and down the aisles and feel the fabrics).

Ah well, there are still 11 other monthly stitch challenges and I’ll be pleased if I complete a third of them this year!

2 thoughts on “Monthly Stitch Challenge: January – Cheers for New Year!

What do you think?

