Mom Musings

Mom Musings: 6 Months In

Well, this is a couple of days late, but Baby D is officially 6 months old! I cannot believe how fast the time has gone by. So much has happened and it’s crazy to think we’re already in April.

I’ve been back to work since early January and I’ve settled into my old, pre-baby routine, which is nice, if I’m being honest. D isΒ either at the daycare on the first floor of my building or he’s with my parents, so I don’t have to worry and can put my energy and focus into my work. (it also helps that on the couple days he’s at the daycare I can go and visit him on my lunch break! — it’s nice to see his face during the day).

Overall, it’s been a whole new routine and lifestyle to get used to, and while it’s a lot of work and very tiring, I wouldn’t change it for anything. He’s brought so much joy into our lives, it’s incredible. But I definitely won’t say it’s been easy. Being a mom is one of the hardest, but most rewarding things I’ve ever done.

It’s so much fun to watch him grow and discover new things every day. The simplest things we take for granted are so mesmerizing and enchanting to him. It’s really quite remarkable. At the time I’m typing this, he is making noises and playing with his fingers and toes. He’ll hold his hands in front of his face for minutes at a time (which is a long time to a baby!) and watch them move.

He discovered his toes a few months ago, and he has been rolling from his belly to his back since he was 4.5 months old. He has yet to master the back to belly, and I know once he does we’ll be in trouble because it will only be a matter of time before he starts rolling every where and then crawling! We’ve also been practicing sitting up. He’s been “talking” for some time now, too, and it’s so funny to watch & listen to him testing out new sounds.

We read together most days/nights and he seems to really enjoy Chicka Chicka Boom Boom. I can’t wait to have reading time with him as he grows up. He also enjoys doing Itsy Bitsy Spider, Patty Cake, and Head, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes. (Mommy sings lots of silly songs, or regular songs in silly ways, and he loves to laugh at with her..)

He’s still sleeping in a bassinet in our room, but we recently started putting him in his crib for naps. It’s going OK – today was the first day that he stayed asleep for at least an hour for both naps (the last few times he only slept for about 30-40 minutes while in the crib). I figure this is a good way to ease him into sleeping in his crib all night. He’s growing so fast that he’ll likely only be able to sleep in the bassinet for another couple of weeks. It’ll be weird to not have him right next to me.

The newest thing for him that he really enjoys is trying new baby foods! We started with rice cereal to get him used to new textures and then gradually introduced him to a few different veggies and fruits. The pediatrician recommended that we try veggies first as some babies tend to get a “sweet tooth” with fruits and then reject veggies because they’re not as sweet. We have given him a different veggie or fruit every few days to give him a chance to get used to it and to also give us a chance to see if he has any reactions. So far, he’s tried sweet potatoes, carrots, peas, apples, and we started bananas today. I’m happy to say that he enjoys them all!

He smiles and laughs so much and is generally a pretty happy baby. I feel so blessed to have him in my life. Everyday I think I can’t possibly love him more than I do and then he does something and I think “nope, guess I was wrong – I love him even more.” I can’t wait to see what the next 6 months bring!

5 thoughts on “Mom Musings: 6 Months In

  1. Happy 6 months! It’s so exciting to watch them discover the world, starting with themselves. I remember moving our boys over from bassinet to crib. That was almost 5 years ago for our youngest. Time only seems to go fast the older they get. Nothing shows the passage of time like watching our kids grow πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

