Baby D · Year in Review

Where Did 2016 Go?

Hi everyone! Remember me?

I’ve recently started playing catch up with reading blogs I follow, so forgive me for likes/comments on older posts. (for some of you I even went back to July!) It’s been fun playing catch up to see what’s been going on in your lives.

My M.O. this year seems to be fewer, longer posts. So, as I’ve cautioned with others, this is a fairly lengthy post (and my apologies in advance for the lack of pictures). This’ll be a catch up/year in review type post, using my 2016 plans post as a guide.

Baby D
First of all, to make my life a bit easier when typing, I’ll share that Baby D’s name is Dom. It’ll be much easier to type that than constantly writing “Baby D” (not to mention: what will I call him when he’s no longer a baby? — something that’s quickly happening!) I think my last post was about him turning 1. We’re now at 14.5 months and it’s amazing what’s happened in the last 2.5 months since I posted. For one, he never ended up getting around to crawling, just scooting around on his bum everywhere, and let me tell you, he could really pick up speed! But forget scooting, he’s now fully walking around like he owns the place. He started that at about 13 months. He’s too damn cute. I’m sorry, I’ll say it. He’s also starting to talk a little; clearly saying “mama” and “dada” and knowing who those words identify, he says “blll” for “ball” and “balloon”, “blllum” for a truck/car noise, and sort of saying “bumble” (as in the Bumble from Rudolph). Just because he has a limited vocabulary, though, does not mean he doesn’t understand! He knows his own name, and points to the right items when we say light, fan, Henry (his elf on the shelf), Sonny, hug, book, block, ring, penguin (decoration in the house), tree (our Christmas tree), candle, etc. It’s so much fun watching him figure things out. Just today he threw both arms up in the air when I said “touchdown!” He loves to eat, especially his veggies (corn, peas, and carrots are his favorites). He also has a sweet tooth, like his mumma. 🙂 He’ll be transitioning from “Infants” to “Toddlers” next month at the daycare. Can’t believe we’re already at that point!

Work
Work has been crazy busy. Lots of changes over the course of the year. I mentioned in another post that my manager of 3 years had decided to leave to pursue her dream of sailing down to the Caribbean. I am happy to report that she is absolutely loving it and is completely in her element. Follow her blog here! (we haven’t been as successful with Freddy, but he has had a few adventures that I need to add to his blog). The manager that took over has also left. I had 6 solid months working with her and really enjoyed that time. I definitely plan to keep in touch with her! I am now on my work break for the next 2 weeks (Friday the 16th was my last day in the office for the year. I’ll return on January 3). I am so happy to have this time off and recharge after all the changes we had this year. I still love my job and my team so will still look forward to getting back into things in the new year.

Reading
I set up my Goodreads challenge to complete 24 books this year. I’m at 22, so could potentially hit 24 by the 31st, if I set my mind to it. I joined the Book of the Month Club over the summer so have been getting a book each month (except for December, none of the options appealed to me so I skipped it — but I had 2 free credits for referrals which I used in November, so I still have 2 BOTM books to read — not to mention other books sitting on my real and virtual book shelves!)

Totally failed at the Q&A a Day book — but I can try again next year! (and the next 3 after that).  I think I fell off somewhere in April…

I haven’t used the reading nook at all, except to store more books, of course!

Crafts
Sewing
Right. So nothing to report here. I have done one of the diaper pouch/changing pad things for my cousin back in May (I have a draft post for it as I have a few others to make and wanted to put them altogether in one post). That is the only thing I have sewed all year. I laugh when I look back at my 2016 post and all the dreams I had! I didn’t have anything for any of The Monthly Stitch’s challenges, either. I completely underestimated the amount of time I’d actually have to sew. I pretty much did nothing I hoped to do at the end of last year. And because I fell behind in reading blog posts, I completely forgot about/never checked in about the #stichingsanta hosted by Sheila. Which, in retrospect, is probably a good thing, given that I never accomplished anything!

Knitting
I have completed a sock! I joined a socks KAL (knit-a-long) at the end of the summer and didn’t finish in time for the wrap up, but I’m slowly making my way through. I finished the first sock and will eventually finish the second one (I’m almost done with the cuff). I’ll post about those later on.

 30×30 List Carry Over
Well, I haven’t really done any of these either, but the year isn’t over yet! We have plans to do the ZooLights tomorrow!!! (Finally!!!!) We’ve also talked about going to a Cirque du Soleil show (Paramour) in NYC next year, so I’ll get there eventually. (I did see a different Cirque show this summer, Kurios, which was Amazing!) Won’t get around to the pasta from scratch this year, but I plan to make a cheesecake from scratch to bring to my parents’ house the day after Christmas (our new tradition started last year) — can that count toward a pie from scratch??

New Blog Categories
Baking & Cooking 
Haven’t attempted too much. I did make peanut butter banana bars at the end of last year which were pretty good (oh, I guess I mentioned them in my 2016 plans post). I tried a mug chocolate chip cookie and that was not so good. I’ve done the typical banana bread, chocolate chip cookies, etc., but I want to try more.

I also do pancakes & french toast pretty regularly. Recently the pancakes have been with Bisquick, but occasionally I’ll make them from scratch (depends on time!). Dom loves pancakes! and I love them with blueberries. (the other day I was so excited to make blueberry pancakes and when I sat down to eat them, realized I forgot to add the blueberries — I was so disappointed). I’ve also figured out that using whole milk makes the pancakes better! (I only have whole milk on hand because of Dom).

I haven’t done too much in the way of cooking (hubby does the cooking more often; I’m the baker). I have a couple of go to dishes (like meatloaf or pork chops), but I’m hesitant to venture out of my comfort zone because I don’t want to screw up dinner and then not have anything to eat! (especially now that Dom eats table food with us and no longer does the baby purees). But with some time off from work, maybe I’ll try something. I’m always going through the cookbooks I have and folding down pages of things to try, and then never get around to doing anything.

Mom/Family Posts
Probably the only successful part of my goals! (look for “Mom Musings” to see those posts).

So to wrap up: I definitely didn’t do pretty much anything of what I hoped to do. However, aside from a few things, I’m OK with that. It’s been a fast, busy year learning to juggle being a mom with a full time job, and trying to fit in things I did before Dom. I can only hope to learn more each year and figure out the right balance for me. I’ll do a 2017 plans post and hopefully make it more realistic so that my review post a year from now will be sharing successes across the board!

2 thoughts on “Where Did 2016 Go?

What do you think?

