baking

Homemade Cheesecake

For the day after Christmas at my parents’ house (just a week ago), I decided to tackle a cheesecake from scratch. I used the KitchenAid Best-Loved Recipes cookbook recipe for Marble Cheesecake (p. 92).

20170101_211636

I don’t have any pictures of the prep as I was concentrating on getting it put together and in the oven as quickly as possible because I broke the first rule of baking: I didn’t read through the entire recipe and didn’t realize how much time it needed to bake and then refrigerate before we could eat it.

Because of that, the cheesecake wouldn’t have been in the fridge for the minimum required time (2 hours) before we had to leave for my parents’ house. Luckily, they live approximately 20 minutes away, and since it was a dessert, I was able to leave it in their fridge for more than the required time. (But I was nervous it wasn’t going to be good because of that).

The recipe says to bake the cake for 1 hour and 30 minutes. I did it for that long on the bottom rack. Next time, I’ll put it on the top rack and only do 1 hour and 15 minutes. It came out a bit too brown and the bottom, while not technically burnt, was pretty hard (I attribute to the brown sugar-to-graham cracker ratio in the crust; I think I might need more graham cracker)

20161226_154334
It definitely didn’t look anything like the picture in the cookbook. I didn’t do the marbling as they described (like I said, I was trying to get it in the oven as quickly as possible). I think I probably didn’t have enough chocolate mixed in, either. (as I was adding the melted chocolate to some of the batter, the chocolate bowl fell in the batter bowl, so a good amount of melted chocolate ended up on the bottom of the bowl instead of in the cake — definitely not getting my own cooking show anytime soon!)

20161226_154754
some pieces looked layered instead of marbled. (also, I only remembered to take the picture after I took the first bite :))

However, all in all, I was pretty pleased with my first attempt at a homemade cheesecake. Everyone who tried it said they liked it, so that’s good. It wasn’t perfect, but I’ll get there. I’d like to try a plain cheesecake, with various toppings to add, based on the individual’s preference.

Lessons learned/things I’d do differently for this recipe:

  • use top rack of oven
  • bake for less time
  • add a bit extra graham cracker to crust mix
  • try without chocolate
  • melt a bit extra chocolate in case of accidents 😉
2 thoughts on “Homemade Cheesecake

What do you think?

