Baby D · Mom Musings

Mom Musings: Raising a Reader

(picture from bloxi.com, found via google image search)

It was only a matter of time before I had a post like this, right? (I mean, look at my blog name, the original intent of this blog in my About Me, and search for the “With My Reading Buddy” tag, and I think you’ll get the hint, if you’ve missed it ;))

But I’m writing this now because I’ve been inspired by a few posts by Eric, at All in a Dad’s Work (Hi, Eric!). His is one of the blogs I was regularly reading for a while. As you know, I was away from the blogs for a bit, but when I started catching up, his was one of the first ones I went to. (Check him out; I love his “Questions I Asked My Kids” segments). Anyway, a few of his posts over the last couple of months (yes I had to go back a few months to catch up!) have been about reading with his two boys. They both seem to enjoy reading and talk about going to bookstores. I hope Dom is the same way as he grows up!

I try to read to Dom regularly. He has a bookshelf filled with books, and I’m always buying new ones. And of course he got a few more for Christmas. I have one memorized that I recite to him every night as we are settling into the rocking chair before bed (The Going to Bed Book by Sandra Boynton – one of the first books Dom played with, as you can tell by the missing corner).

20170102_082215
The beloved (memorized) bedtime story, sitting in our rocking chair
20161230_182902-edited
The Pen

We have a “pen” set up in our living room (one of those enclosed gate things that you can configure into different shapes) where he plays during the day and I always leave a few books in there, as well. Lately, when I sit in it with him, he will bring a book over to me and then sit in my lap so I can read it to him (melts my heart every time).

20170101_211732
The most common book he brings to me — though he’s typically ready to move on by the time we reach the letter “N” (I also have this one pretty much memorized)
20161230_182954-edited
Shelf in his bedroom

He knows what “book” is when you ask, which I love. Depending on where we are, he’ll either point to the small pile in his pen or the bookshelf in his bedroom. I’m always on the lookout for new books, so if you have any recommendations, don’t hesitate to leave them in the comments!

 

A few friends at work  are beginning to read the good chapter books with their kids (like Harry Potter), and that is something I so look forward to! (but I also don’t want to wish the time to speed up to get there!)

What are your kids’ favorite books? What’s your favorite book to read with your child(ren)?

12 thoughts on “Mom Musings: Raising a Reader

  1. Sandra Boynton has some good ones. One our favorites of hers is “Snuggle Puppy”. I am reading Harry with my oldest. We’re on book 5. He loves it. The yougest (5) wants to join in sometimes, but doesn’t quite understand what’s going on. In a couple years time he’ll be ready. He loves the Piggy and Elephant books by Mo Willems. Anything by Mo is pretty fantastic, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love reading to my 3 year old! It’s wonderful he’s now at the age where he has memorized books, even insists on sleeping with some of his favorites. He especially enjoys an easy reader book called Biscuit, about trying to put a puppy to bed, he can “read” the whole thing to us.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

