cooking

Homemade Buttermilk Pancakes

I love breakfast. It’s my favorite meal to make. I’ve taken to doing pancakes, waffles, scrambled eggs, or French toast on Sundays, trying to start a family weekend tradition.

I’ve wanted to make buttermilk pancakes for ages but always forget to buy buttermilk when I’m at the store. Last month, I finally remembered to pick some up and that weekend attempted to make them. I found the Best Ever Buttermilk Pancake recipe from Lovely Little Kitchen on Pinterest and its name is no joke!

These are some of the best pancakes I’ve ever made/had! I added chocolate chips to the second half of the batch.

plain
with chocolate chips!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Even hubs, who isn’t big on sweet breakfast foods thought they were really good, too. I said I was never going back to Bisquick! (In reality though, I have used Bisquick once since then. It’s faster to do in a pinch).

I’ve made these a second time as well, and they were just as good as the first try.

Buttermilk is going to become a regular staple in my fridge!

A friend of mine (Hi, Kellie!) said her husband tried banana chocolate chip blueberry pancakes when they were on their honeymoon and he thought they were amazing. I just might have to try that next!

What other pancake variations do you like/recommend?

3 thoughts on “Homemade Buttermilk Pancakes

    1. Until I found this recipe, I always used Bisquick, and we add blueberries or chocolate chips. I have to say buttermilk really kicks them up a few notches — they’re not as thick as the Bisquick, but I think they’re more flavorful.

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

